Sweet

in #family6 years ago

I was getting reviewed at a job that I was being grossly underpaid to do.

My boss, Ken, sat across from me and said, “We’re prepared to offer you a 6% increase. What do you think about that?”

I said I couldn’t settle for less than a 10% increase.

He said, “ I could go as high as 8.”

I replied, “Fine, I’ll take 12.”

He said, “We’re supposed to be negotiating here. I don’t think you know how this works.”

I said, “ I know exactly how this works and I know what I’m worth to this company. It’s now 14%, or I find another job.”

He said, “OK, 9%.”

I said, “15.”

He said, “OK, OK, 10% it is!”

I was confident that they couldn’t replace me without losing a shitload of money in the process. It may sound like I was being ballsy, but I had all the cards and knew what I could get. Still, it sounded pretty crazy after the fact.
17.3k Views ·

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51