Temper Tantrums

in #family7 years ago (edited)


A temper tantrum is the emotional equivalent of a summer storm – sudden and sometimes fierce, but often over as quickly as it starts.

Thankfully, tantrums may be less frequent during the preschool years than they were during the terrible twos. But when tantrums do hit, they're as challenging as ever. And as many veteran parents attest, tantrums may continue to flare up well into the grade-school years.


My son is nearly 5 and there's times he still has meltdowns. Of course he's never to blame for them, he usually hits me with his favorite line; "don't talk to me mommy, you made me so sad". At that moment I know to give him his space the same way I'd like some space whenever my partner upsets me. (Like mother, like son)

Nonetheless, I enjoy communicating with my 4 year-old, usually once the tantrum is over. Something I've learned with my son is that giving him the space to express his frustration can be very effective. I realized he usually analyzes things over and realizes what he either did or said wrong. Yet, it's very rare I'll get an apology LOL.


Though you may worry that the tantrums are a sign of a difficult personality, take heart – at this age, tantrums are normal. It's unlikely that your child is throwing a fit to be manipulative. More likely, she's having a meltdown in response to frustration at her current situation or because of something else that has been bothering her..

During the kicking-and-screaming chaos of the moment, tantrums can be downright frustrating. But instead of looking at them as disasters, treat tantrums as opportunities for education..

Help kids learn new skills and succeed.Help kids learn to do things. Praise them to help them feel proud of what they can do. Also, start with something simple before moving on to more challenging tasks

This can also help avoid tantrums to begin with.


Remember, tantrums usually aren't cause for concern and generally stop on their own. As kids mature, they gain self-control. They learn to cooperate, communicate, and cope with frustration. Less frustration and more control mean fewer tantrums — and happier parents.


Sort:  

Those crying faces are way too familiar lol

Aren't they adorable lol

As a father of 3 boys I have seen my fair share ot tantrums! ☺ nice post 👌

Oh boy! I'm going on my second boy but I already know my hands will be full lol.. thank you 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30