A Mums Guide To Helping Your Child With Autism - Part A

in #family7 years ago

So you find out your child has Autism now what do you do? How are you going to cope, and where can you get help? Hopefully I can help you to realise you are not alone.

As you are aware there are several different factors when your child has been diagnosed with Austism. But the biggest thing is how does your child respond and what are his/her triggers. Another words does your child become more angry if you raise your voice to do things. I know mine child does, so I have to keep my cool and breath in and breath out, and say the task at hand in a normal tone, so my task gets done.

I will be posting a few ideas to help kids with Autism over a few posts. This post I'll be covering the basis of just getting by and setting routines. Yeah, yeah routines I know it took me a whole month before my routine came together as it was new to my child and omg yes new to me as this is where this helps you to get organised better.

First task I can suggest is, you need to lay out on a bit of paper your schedule for the week. The reason you do this is to help you set up a visual schedule. Now even if you don't have a child with Autism this is great for any kid, as it makes them feel independent, ooh and did I mention you can even enjoy one coffee to yourself.

So all you need is a printer, laminate machine and laminate sheets, scissors, computer, internet, velcro dots or blu tack. Now this website I'm going to give you doesn't just help with visual schedules, have a look it is fantastic.

Sparkle Box
http://www.sparklebox.co.uk/special-needs/visual-timetable/home-routines.html#.Wk2lOFWWbIU

Once here you will see various pictures from getting out of bed to eating breakfast to playing. Basically any task that a kid needs to do. Once you have decided on the tasks for the week keep in mind the pictures that have breakfast, brush teeth etc the every day ones you only need to print once. As this is how you can lay it out so it is easy for your child to read.

                Monday

Morning

Morning Tea

Lunch

Afternoon Tea

Dinner

Before Bed Time

Beside each of these you put a picture so for example beside morning you put, have breakfast, then brush teeth, get dresses etc. Your child may take a few weeks to get used of this but you can just reassure your child if they come to you and ask, “what do I do now”? you can say, “Can you tell me what the next picture is please”. Once the child has done the task they remove it from the board and place it into a bag or envelope. Maybe get them to make a special one so they help make this there own.

Setting up this visual scheduler for my son has helped him become independent and also help me to be able to get out of the door. I sure a lot of mums can related to this!

See how you go. If you have any questions please ask as Id love to help you if you need it.

Cheers

Maagster aka Heather

Sort:  

Free vote for you! Yay!

thanks eatsrewards Yippii

Congratulations @maagster! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41