Grandpas Boy

in #family6 years ago

103_0250.JPG

One of my favorite past times as a child was listening to Grandma's stories. Grandpa's Boy was one of them. During a flu epidemic many people passed away. One couple had several children. Neighbors took in the children except a small boy. Someone suggested he go down the road and ask if anyone needed a boy. Grandpa John was cutting wood when the little fellow got to his house and ask if he needed a boy. Grandpa quickly sized up the situation and told him ''I sure do need a boy. All I have are girls.'' They picked up some fire wood and went to tell Grandma. Grandpa's Boy stayed with him until his marriage at age twenty one.

Sort:  

Interesting story at the very least, though I have to wonder if it's actually true or of it's just some story about an old man that needed help out in the bushes chopping wood and other manly things.

I know this story to be true but I can't give names and dates. I did meet ''Grandpa's Boy'' when he was an old man. He has been dead for many years. He remained a beloved family member all of his life.
I'm so glad you found it interesting.

Ah, I see, old man been dead many years. So that's the time period we're talking about. I can see that happening back then. Sad that he had to go door to door looking for a new family, but happy ending is that he found a new family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51