Sunday Funday - Special Birthday Moments 🎂 🎉

in #family6 years ago (edited)


image source

Today we all celebrated the youngest member of my family’s second birthday. I love birthdays. In fact, give me any excuse to celebrate something and I’m there. I love the happiness of it and I’m definitely your go to for bringing all the sparkly stuff haha. For me though, what made this even more special, was the fact that for most of my life we were the only part of my extended family that lived in Cape Town. The rest of my extended family lived in Pretoria and we hardly ever got to see them. In the last few months most of these family members have moved down to Cape Town and now I get to include them in my life more regularly.

“You don’t choose your family. They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them.” – Desmond Tutu

I am extremely attached to my family and one of the main reasons why I wouldn’t move too far away is because I wouldn’t want my kids to experience the same as I did growing up. I remember going with my friends to their family events and feeling sad because I didn’t have that myself. Fortunately, my husband has a very big family. Maybe that’s why I married him haha, and if we have a family get together with that side we will probably have to hire a venue. In fact, when we got married eighty percent of the people there were my husband’s family and it makes my heart so happy that my kids will have this in their lives. In fact, in the below picture only around twenty of these people were not related to us in some way. This makes me so happy.


This photo was taken by our professional photographer Jan Dorfling from A Still Picture at our wedding.

This is little Malachi 💖, the birthday boy, and he’s just such a sweet little boy. Shame, he just about fell over his feet trying to get away from me. My cousin then told me that he doesn’t like strong and loud woman, so I guess it will take him a while to get used to me. There’s a reason why my family calls me the loud one, hahaha.

The other reason I love birthdays. Cake. Now to be honest I don’t like to eat them and rarely have more than a few bites, but I love how pretty they can be. Plus, it’s just so satisfying to cut into it and reveal what is hiding inside. For me it’s like opening a present. I suppose I’m a good “You can’t have your cake and eat it too” person. This one was a cappuccino chocolate cake from Limnos Bakery. Now if you’ve ever had a cake from Limnos Bakery then you will know that they rarely disappoint and it’s perfect for cheat day Sunday.

In short it was a truly special day spent with people that I care deeply for. My heart always feels so happy when I get to spend time with special people. Sometimes life can really get so busy and it’s these special memories and moments that stick with a person.

"Cakes are special. Every birthday, every celebration ends with something sweet, a cake and people remember. It's all about the memories." - Buddy Valastro

Thank you for reading and remember to keep smiling 😄.
All images, unless specifically sourced, were taken by me 😄 with my Samsung S8.


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Happy Birthday to your loved one 🎂 also celebrating my birthday today 😊 ...really share your sentiments..there is nothing like the precious memories and moments shared with family ❤

Thank you very much and happy birthday to you too. Hope you had an amazing day filled with lots of love and spoils.

Thank you so much 💐

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51