Sort:  

Wow you got really lucky there.. that could have been a disaster looking at the parts that got damaged.. there is an angel watching over you guys I guess.. Thankfully things all worked out for the best!

That was the only hiccup in the whole trip besides when we drove to another city and every campsite/RV spot was full due to a beach volleyball tournament.

Damn! Stupid Murphy trying to throw a wrench in the Splatts family vacation. Good to see you guys got back on the road and are headed for nothing but good times.

It was definately a moment when things froze in time, and I wondered if we were goin to make it to the beach or not

Way to pull through! Gotta show the little ones what perseverance is.… man, I love RVs but they certainly break often and when they do it’s usually a doozie. Enjoy your family @jlsplatts, we’ll see you back on #foodfightfriday.

Stay calm, don’t over react and just step back and think about things for a minute. Is all it takes sometime. Gotta clear your head.

That's come crazy luck man. Bad, but sooooooo good at the same time. Glad it all worked out!

It’s funny how once something happens your mind automatically goes to the worst scenario.
I am truly thankful that all that broke was the bearing for that pulley.

Hi jlsplatts,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Awesome!! Thank you so very much!!

How's this for a business idea (if you ever get sick of climbing poles): rent yourself out for family vacation road-trips as an on-board mechanic.

Not many people would have been able to figure out this problem so quickly.

Not a bad idea, see the countryside free food maybe a cold beverage here and there. Good retirement gig. 😜😜

That was unbelievable read. Hope you had a very enjoyable trip.

Thanks for stopping in and checking it out. I couldn’t believe it myself when the whole thing unfolded. I just kept shaking my head saying, “No Way, did this just happen!”

Luckiest man of the day :-) Glad NAPA had this part you need and very lucky with the gas station, cool story, 👍 and now enjoy your holiday 😃

I keep thinking about what ‘could have’ happened if I didn’t pull over at that moment in time. Kind of scary to think about.

Indeed 👍

@jlsplatts You got very lucky! I had a 2000 Ford Taurus that I loved and had some problems with belts and bearings that anytime they were fixed, they seemed to break within just a few months. She is now sitting at a local garage who bought her for parts.

I am so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy your vacation despite this little blurb. It is amazing what instincts can do and what do decide to do when they tell us to.

I’m a sucker for the older vehicles. I like being able to fix them myself. A hundred dollars here and there for my diesel truck is a lot better than a $7-800 payment a month 😉
Things definately fell right into place to get us back on the road to fun.

Yes, they did @jlsplatts! I'm so glad that you were able to fix it while on the road and so quickly, too, I might add.

Woaou you and your family are pretty lucky!!!But it seems it is all good now and you had all a good time:)lovely family photo:)

Definately perfect timing. Who knows how long it would have lasted before it flew apart and tore all kinds of things apart in my engine bay.

It looks like you and the family beat the heat in that last photo! Everyone looks kind of cold in that pic.

I am not whatsoever mechanical in nature and even I can tell you were headed for a nightmare with the bearing and bolt head damage. I am glad you were off the highway to find this out.

That sea breeze when it is 60f is a bit chilly when you used to 90-100f that is for sure.
It could have let loose at any moment I’m still in awe

Yes, you were very lucky!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71