Happy St Patrick's Day . Family Photos

in #family6 years ago (edited)

20180317_165158.jpg


Thank you for today. Thank you for family and friends and a weekend to remember love, compassion, and community. It takes effort to be happy for some people. It takes time and patience. It takes being tender, tough, and creative. It takes listening and letting go. I am thankful that when I am with family, I have an opportunity to make an effort to be happy and share that joy with loved ones. I am thankful for this past St Patrick's Day Weekend with Family and Friends.

Mother and her sisters rarely miss a chance to host a family get together. They have always been social siblings. This year mother hosted everyone over for Corn Beef, Cabbage, and Company. The customary Schnucks Bakery St Patty's Day Snake Bread was purchased and placed on the table. My sister Lulu, her husband, and my charming new baby nephew drove in town from Kansas City. My brother, his fellow artistic wife, and two children drove up from Maplewood. The other brothers took time away from frisbee golf and their bustling social life. And we thought of our sister and her family up in South Dakota. The heir to the family's charm, our cousin Joe, his wife, and beautiful baby girl joined us. Our other cousins brought their adorable toddler over. All the kids had buddies to play with. Godfathers and Godmothers, Aunts & Uncles donned green garb and derby caps and even parade beads. Aunt Libby and them went to watch the parade. The mayor rode on the Florissant float this year. He said it was chilly out there as we warmed himself with a smile by the fire. We're all proud of our pop, who is the longest running publicly elected official in the State of Missouri. The money will never reflect his sacrifice, the public will never know how much effort he puts into helping others. In this world there are those who seek to destroy, and there are others who seek to build. My father has always been a builder. And his family is always here to remind him how priceless and appreciated he is. He is after all a Blake, and the luck o the Irish has blessed him with a loving family.

We played College Basketball on the TV while the toddlers tumbled around the room. Was fun to watch my sister's alma mater Loyola & Sister Jean, pull off another upset. I watched as the simplest things held their attention. I held my nephew as my beard fascinated his focus. His eyes wide open and searching the room for discovery. His joy at simple surprise of sight or movement. His giggle and grunts as tumbles on his stomach. He is a cute kid. He brings joy to my loving sister Lulu who has devoted her life to helping others. I remember hearing somewhere that to be human is to be humane, to be humane is to practice compassion. I recently read how being an artist means never having to apologize for one's attempt at creatively practicing being human. And I often think of my family, especially Lulu as someone who has made being a compassionate human being an art. She is gentle, she is forgiving, and it is this kindness that makes her strong and successful. All my brothers and sisters do their best. Nobody is rich, but everyone is doing well, living humble happy lives. It continues to be a joy seeing the universe reward them for the good they bring into the world

I am thankful for today. I am thankful for family and the opportunity to be creative, to be kind, to be appreciated and appreciate others. I am thankful for people who accept me for who I am and who recognize my honest intentions. I am thankful for people who know that I am not perfect, but allow me a safe place to practice compassion. I know they worry for me when I tell them about my goals. I worry for them too. We are creative with our concern. Love is all we need. I can only hope that others have a similar opportunity to find peace, receive love, to practice being human.

It was nice not to have to defend myself from someone who I realize is simply hurting. Recently, someone i care about has been emotionally abusive to me, publicly and privately. I feel betrayed, it hurts, I have forgiven them, but I keep getting hurt. My creative attempts for a healthy relationship with trust and boundaries have been turned into fuel for negativity. I wish them all things positive. Because it was nice to simply be with family and remember we are all human, life is not always what we want, but love is all we need.

May the sun be warm upon your face.
May the wind be at your back.
May a healthy distance you keep from harm
May love in your heart never lack

May the glory that is you be found.
May you pick yourself up when you fall.
May you arrive safely on your path
May joy & journey with others be the greatest gift of all.

20180317_174031.jpg

20180317_165611.jpg

20180317_165558.jpg

20180317_184040.jpg

20180317_184117.jpg

20180317_163405.jpg

20180317_180727.jpg

20180317_182402.jpg

20180317_164500.jpg

20180317_164513.jpg

20180317_184123.jpg

20180317_203302.jpg

20180317_205024.jpg

20180317_151009.jpg

20180317_203209.jpg


small button.jpg
FaceLogoBar.jpg

OL:jacobts2 | #iAppreciate | SteemAuto | @SteemExperience | @TheAlliance | @MinnowSupport | @Adsactly | @thesteemengine | @sndbox | @utopian-io | @inertia | @instructor2121 | @fyrst-witness | @virtualgrowth | @sykochica | @stepanh | @the-bitcoin-dood | @papa-pepper | @improv | @meesterboom | @whatsup | @riskdebonair | @davidpompeii | @shadowspub | @beanz | @coachjj | @sirlunchthehost | @lordoftruth | @torico | @theoccultcorner | @happyphoenix | @samstonelake | @steevc | @rarebooksleuth | @seablue | @RichardCrill | @ShermanEdwards | #improv

i help curate the #family section on steemit.chat where we welcome stories of family during your #steemexperience.

Sort:  

Lovely post and sentiment, such a wonderful family event and time to enjoy good times with each other.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Thank you. Much needed love. All the blessed to you and your family!

Family is the place to be. :-D

Friends and Family, heal the heart.

Happy happy day for you all I can see you are having a good times enjoy your day best wishes to you all bye 👋
Upvoted and resteemed as usual

As usualy. Thank you Solo.

Happy St Patrick's Day,,,,Wonderful Family picture & nice natural photo photography,,,,,, i like it ,,,,,,,,,,thanks for sharing.........

Thank You!

You are welcome to visit @steemexperience community.
They have a discord to meet new nice people on steemit.

You may contact me anytime for help with steemit.
Nice meeting you. All the best!

Definitely a little different than our St. Pats here in Canada :) http://bit.ly/2FUDi6o Great pictures! Nothing beats family!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jacobts from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It sounds like you had a wonderful St. Patrick's Day weekend! Saturday was my husband's birthday so we celebrated that more than the holiday (but we still wore our green!). We went out to dinner and then to a local concert he wanted to see. #thealliance

Sounds like a wonderful Day! Happy for you and your hubby.
I wonder what concert. Must have been fun.
all the best, #thealliance

your family looks very happy, and the children in this photo very cute and sweet

I grew up in a German community, so St. Pat's was never much. Nonetheless any excuse to bring the clan together is a good one!

I have another small Jesuit University that I follow closely... Gonzaga.
Go Zags!

Gonzaga still ballin!

Side note. The person who threatened me is asking that I change my post. Nobody knows who they are. I have not mentioned their name, nor will I.

Yet they are stalking my posts. They phoned me just now, left a text message, and threatened me on discord. They claim this post is "cruel, abusive," and demanded I change it or else they will "have this issue addressed..."

I will live. But my heart goes out to anyone who feels like they are being bullied. May you continue to stand up for yourself. May you continue to not be silent. Remember your family is always there for you. And steemit is supposed to be censorship free.

My steemit is for me, those who care about me, and for those who let me care for them. This is not for anyone to read who does not like me. That is stalking.

I can't see any reason they feel you should change the post. You haven't named anyone, and you are welcome to share your feelings about a situation on the chain.

I feel you did a wonderful job in the post of addressing the situation without calling anyone out. If they feel that you have done them wrong, it is likely that they are just projecting their own feelings onto something and should just move on.

It seems you are ready to move on and leave any such drama behind. Don't let them drag you back in to it.

Thank you again @Discordiant! MinnowSupport and PAL continue to be a supportive community for a healthy experience here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66222.18
ETH 3310.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70