A Fine Man to Name My Son After

in #family6 years ago

FB_IMG_1516142190576.jpg

This is me and my Grandad Harry.

As soon as it was confirmed that we were having a baby boy I knew I wanted to name him after my Grandad. We named our baby Oban Harry.

Grandad Harry passed away when I was 7, I wish I had more memories with him, but I'm glad I got to spend atleast 3 holidays a year visiting him and my Grandma in England.

I remember eating smoked kipper with him for breakfast (something no other grown up could have convinced me to try), playing droughts and a game called squares. In squares you had to put your first initial in the box you were claiming, we both had the letter H so he let me have that and instead he was G for Grandad. I knew very few people with the first initial H so I felt like that was a very special thing to share with my Grandad!

I remember watching in awe when he would inject insulin into his arm, I thought he was the bravest man in the world for being able to do that.

I remember helping him water his tomato plant and fetching the mail and his letter knife for him.

I remember watching him laugh, he had the biggest laugh I'd ever seen. And of course watching him sing old cockney songs. My name when said by my Grandma and Grandad Harry was not Hazel, it was "Aaaaezow".

I remember how he would selflessly let me blow out his birthday candles, and how he would bet on the horse I most liked the name of, regardless of the odds!

Above all I remember how much he loved his wife and family. ❤

Sort:  

I can easily see why you named your son after him, and how much he most have loved you and you him. We named our son after my grandpa too, his third name is Heimo after my grandfather! And his second name is Jacob after my boyfriends grandfather;)

Ah that's lovely! Heimo is a fantastic name, I've never heard it before, what country does that name originate from?

From Finland!;) I love it too, and my grandfather!

Such a beautiful post Hazel. I can hear him telling you stories as he was cuddling you in this photo, you would listen absolutely mesmerised by him, how I miss him xx❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60