Life Lessons from a Geek: A Primer

in #family7 years ago (edited)

When I was lucky enough to stumble upon steemit just over one year ago, I was incredibly excited. I had always wanted to write a book filled with the different life lessons that I found in pop culture... but I knew I would never write it. There is no way my ADHD and OCD would allow me to write a long book. If I start a project, I need to finish it in one sitting (you should have seen me with Lego as a kid... or as an adult "helping" my kids). So steemit was perfect! I could write a short version of each chapter I had been imagining.



This is the exact image I used for my first Life Lessons from a Geek post 53 short weeks ago. If you want a fun way to teach an average kid who has no superhero or wizard powers about courage... I'd start with Neville Longbottom.

As the year went on, my ADHD took over and I got distracted. I wrote about other silly things (and a few serious ones) instead. I had almost forgotten about the series.

Then yesterday, I finally watched Batman Begins with my 12 1/2 year old son. I made sure to include the 1/2 because it puts him closer to the "13" in the PG13 rating. It is NOT a kids movie. I get that. I purposely watched it while my 10 year old daughter was gone.

Batman Begins is a very dark and violent movie. But I know my son can handle it. In addition, I am watching it with him. Although we have watched some violent PG13 movies, I am confident that my son understands the difference between fantasy and reality. He is a nice kid. Some may argue that even fantasy violence is inappropriate for a child my son's age. I respect that point of view. But in the time we live and the technology we have access to, it would be impossible to shelter him from the types of movies marketed to 12 year olds in America. So I just do the best I can. I watch them with him and try to squeeze any value I can out of them while also reinforcing all of our family's morals and beliefs.

When we watch, I process mature scenes with him and point out "teachable moments". It drives him nuts!



As a teacher (and a father) I look for "teachable moments" everywhere. When my kids ask me questions, I give very thorough explanations. My children refer to this as "teachering" them.

For example, when my kids ask a simple question about a revolving door, I don't just give a quick answer, I explain why businesses use them in order to be energy efficient (I'm sooooo annoying).

I do the same thing during movies. I "teacher" the heck out of films. In the theater, I do it silently by making eye contact or giving my kids a little nudge when something happens that they can learn from. Then we talk about it later. If we are watching a DVD, I do the same or I may say "that's a great line", or I may even pause the movie to take advantage of a "teachable moment" (I'm sooooo annoying).



When I came up with my list of pop culture lessons a few years ago, one line from Batman Begins was very high on that list. I thought I could milk that one lesson for the entire movie. But I was wrong. There were so many more. I had honestly forgotten how many times I'd be able to "teacher" the heck out of that movie.

In my next post, I will do just that.

But for now, I am going to do something that makes me incredibly uncomfortable. I am going to fight my ADHD and OCD and leave this story unfinished. But its worth the discomfort. Instead of finishing this, I am going to take my daughter to the pool. While my son is now big enough to watch some of my favorite movies with me, my daughter is still small enough to throw around a pool without completely destroying my back. I am a lucky man.

Images 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Have fun at the pool! It's awesome you spend time with you kids and even better you take time to purposefully teach them the ways of life.

I forgot the image credits. I will add those asap but here they are 1, 2, 3

You are a respectful father , not fathers would just give a simple answer to their kids , we learn a lot from this platform and we can express our feelings and thoughts in so many ways . @hanshotfirst we can keep teaching everyone here as well and spread the knowledge

I agree. This platform can do wonders for education!

Keep your kids always educated on matters , they will always come to you with what they learn

Hi @hanshotfirst I've published a post about you, check it out if you can, thanks.

30 Best Steemit Bloggers Of The Day To Follow 3rd August 2017

https://steemit.com/steemit/@jzeek/30-best-steemit-bloggers-of-the-day-to-follow-3rd-august-2017

It's very good of you to teach your kids like that. Not many parents would even care what their kids watch and teaching is way out of the question for many.

Thanks! I really enjoy sharing these interests with them.

to being dad,just like a big responsibility and of course it's all worth that i learnt with my children

It's the best job in the world!!!

absolutely.We are so lucky.

I'm so proud, teaching the heck out the movies to your kids, what a great dad you are lol.

Lol. Yeah some people use books and conversations. Where is the challenge in that? Lol

Exactly! That boring books... Cool dads only do the hardcore way!

Utilizing moments of teaching and instruction are good. Movies can offer many moments of resources for that with your children or others. Perhaps it would encourage a movie night with your children and their many friends. You could take the opportunity to use the movies to teach valuable life instruction from the movies in more of a relaxed informal setting yet as a class. Thanks for sharing. - Troy

I never thought of that. Including their frIends could be cool.

Great Father, teacher & writer:)
Upped & Followed

Lol. I'll just taking "caring".

Thank you do much for the support
if you like cryptocurrency , travel feel free to check out my account :)

Oh yeah, throw her around while you can!

I will have to watch myself when watching older movies with mine. Just now the life lessons are few and far between in the kiddy ones without them being the obvious rammed down the neck sort!

Oh yeah it gets better if you are on the lookout. Had a ton of fun with her and back is fine. It's a miracle!!!

At least you're a parent that respects that a kid should probably not see a pg-13 movie, even if it is a superhero movie. I know enough that show them to 8 year olds and under.

It depends on the movie and the kid. But it definitely requires some thought.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31