Stories fron Sparrow House- Learning to live at the hospital.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #family6 years ago

As a newbie to the State Health Services, I learned that there is a specific routine and rhythm in everyday life. Life in a hospital has its own momentum. At first it seems bewildering, but soon you get the hang of it and get to know the nursing staff.

Sitting next to the bed of a sick baby is both stressful and boring. At first I watched Lee’s every breath, but after a day or so, I realised that, apart from changing her nappy and holding her, there is very little that I could do for her. As days stretched into weeks, I took more and more things to do to the hospital. I finished a jersey for my granddaughter, I did word puzzles, I watched a couple of movies on my tablet in the evenings.

Sleeping over in hospital means that the chair that you sit in during the day is pulled out into a stretcher at night. Very uncomfortable, but better than other hospitals where I only had an upright chair. But exhaustion is a good sleeping companion; I soon learned to fall asleep immediately when I put my head down. Little luxuries from home like my own pillow, and inflatable matrass – the best buy ever- and a soft blanket made life easier.

I have a bag packed, ready with the basics that I will need to spend a night at the hospital. It is ready, because I might need it today. At first I felt guilty about my “luxuries” because the other moms in the ward did not have the same. But I recon I could be the mom of most of the moms there, so I guess my age counts in my advantage in this regard.

After spending about 45 days over a 3 month period at the hospital, some of the staff and I got to know each other on a first name basis. I just smile when they call me mrs D. I am Lee D’s mom. The tall white lady with the little black girl.
On the last occasion when I rushed Lee to the hospital at 3am, the sister on duty in the ER asked me why I did not have a referral letter from the day hospital. As I started to explain that Lee is 11 days post op with a possible infection, the doctor on duty lifted her head from the table, looked at me and said:” O hi, it’s you again. What happened now?” Looking at the sister she said. ”I know this family”.

Family, that is what we are.


Stories from Sparrow House is a collection of my thoughts and experiences as I go though the journey of being a Foster Mother, Safety Parent and Temporary Caregiver to 3 special needs babies one of which has VACTERYL Association. My hope is to raise awareness around VACTERYL Association by sharing our journey, as well as offer support to other foster and safety parents or parents with children who have this syndrome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94