The Day My Daughter Said GoodBye ... New York City Here She Comes!

in #family6 years ago

As we stood in the airport, tears poured down our faces. My 13 year old daughter and I stood like statues trying not to sob. It wasn't working. The tears were flowing.

It was very early morning, so the only witnesses were custodians, mopping floors and dumping trash cans. As they crept by, we waited outside the TSA gate and watched as my oldest daughter, headed off to her flight. She emptied her carry-on bag, took off her shoes, and entered the full body scanner. Once she made it through the other side, she gave us a big wave before heading off down the concourse and out of sight.

My younger daughter stood in front of me watching until the very end. I rubbed her back as we cried and cried. Goodbyes are always hard. This one was especially tough. Her older sister, my first child, just boarded a plane and moved her life to the Big Apple: New York City!

New York City !Here She Comes!!.png

For small town folk like us, my daughter @prettydecent , is kind of a hero round these parts. New York City is a pretty big deal. She is successfully managing a career in marketing and so she has a glorious opportunity to move her job up to the big city. All throughout college, she dreamed of moving to New York City. Heck, she was dreaming of Julliard way back in middle school. This move has been a long time coming. I am very proud of her and thankful to God that she has this opportunity.

But, boy oh boy, the goodbyes are hard.

I pray our good Lord watches over her and blesses her new life. I can't wait to visit. She is already sending me pictures of coffee shops and old Catholic churches. She knows her momma well.

Good luck @prettydecent and much much love from this ol' mom of yours!

xoxoxo
@gatorlynne

my.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99