This too shall pass...

in #family7 years ago

After close to 21 years of paying child support for 4 children, I learned that I am now done.

Over those years I have experienced a great deal of hardship by giving approximately 51% of my income. Don't get me wrong I am not complaining as it was my duty and I did it as faithfully as I could.

As a reward I have 4 well adjusted adult children who, for the most part, are thriving after their own fashion. As adults, I can only offer suggestions and opinions as they weave their own way through life.

As a parent I know my job will never be over but, for the first time in about 21 years I can now plan for my own life and happiness. Start enjoying life again without worrying about having to personally go without for the greater good of my children.

fester-then-now.jpg

The image on the left is what I looked like when I started paying support and the one on the right, well pretty much what I look like now.

Why am I telling you? Well...I'm telling everyone!

I feel reborn; time to start working on my smile again!!!

Sort:  

Great job! Thank you for doing it faithfully, those kids will have a better life for it.
Now!!! Get out there and enjoy!

Thanks missk - great idea. Now all I need to do is figure out how best to do that.

Your new-found freedom is certainly something to smile about :)

I hope that all parents at some point finally get to be selfish, you all deserve it. Congratulations on your newfound freedom and being a great parent!

Thank you. I am not sure how to be selfish but I think I shall have fun learning :)

Raising four well adjusted, self sufficient children is a huge achievement. Enjoy their adulthood. 😀

at least half as much as they do - couldn't ask for more

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 20. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.90 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 20 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30