TODAY IS NATIONAL FRIED CHICKEN DAY!

in #family6 years ago

Today is National Fried Chicken Day!

Seperator line

I celebrate life every day! Every day provides us with opportunities to celebrate. Today is National Fried Chicken Day. My one failed attempt at making fried chicken is now a fond memory. Today’s poem recalls that memory. It is funny how seemingly everyday items or events are attached to our memories. Fried chicken will always hold a special place in my heart but will never be made in my kitchen!

Sried Chicken on a bed of lettuce.

Image source


BURNT FRIED CHICKEN


The Colonel’s Fried Chicken,
is tasty and finger lickin’,

with herbs and spices,
mine was a kitchen crisis.

My one and only attempt,
to fry chicken was inept.

Smoke filled the kitchen,
the smell of burnt chicken.

My husband was a trooper,
he said it will be super.

He somehow overlooked,
the outside being overcooked,

he enthusiastically took a bite,
saying it will be alright.

But then he saw,
the inside was raw.

He replied, it’s okay,
it just wasn’t your day.

I’ll clean up the mess,
you go and get dressed.

I’m taking you to the Corrib Pub,
they always have our favorite grub.

It’s a memory I hold fond,
now that Bob is in the great beyond.

Fried chicken wing.

Image source

Seperator line


Zac Brown Band - Chicken Fried (Full Version Video)- A song about Fried Chicken!

Video source

 

Fried Chicken: A Brief History- Fried Chicken is considered a Southern Food. Fried chicken is a blend of two different cuisines.

Sort:  

I like how Bob managed the crisis. He must have been a good and loving person.

Great poem. Had me at the edge of my seat thinking what Bob would do as I surely, most probably, would have done or said something differently.

Thank you, Bob was a kind and caring man. I was extremely lucky to have in my life. He believed and lived by the saying "happy wife, happy life."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55