"Are you guys air guitaring?" I ask my grandkids as I see them piling downstairs...

in #family7 years ago (edited)


Some of my grand kids are walking around with old Guitar Hero and Rockband style guitar controllers. Yet they are not actually playing Guitar Hero or Rock band. They have gotten into essentially using those to air guitar along with youtube videos.

So I see them one time and ask them if they are Air Guitaring while I'm standing there mimicing holding a bad ass air guitar and strumming and pulling off major riffs. They say as if insulted "No we're guitaring! We've got the controllers!". I didn't get much of a chance to say that back in high school (80s) I entered some air guitar contests... yes, we had those and I had wooden guitars I made. That didn't change the fact that I was air guitaring.

Then I started chuckling as I recalled an absolutely brilliant Mad TV skit on air guitars. It warranted a post as I bet many of you have not seen it, and it along with my story I thought you might find fairly amusing.

These clips are short, and if you haven't seen them before they are a great laugh.

Air Guitar

MADTv Air Band

This may be some nostalgia for us OLDER people too.

Rock On while Steemin On!


EDIT: I showed two of those grandkids this post, and they totally do not get it at all. :)

Sort:  

I play airguitar in my bathroom every Friday evening)

Sounds like a steemit post waiting to happen.

Oh, I think this would be a horror movie...

It's awsm man @dwinblood
I upvoted you

When I was little I've always wanted to air guitar lol it seems like so much fun so I tried it at home one time when no one was around , it feels good :D

Thank you very much for this post.

I remember doing a lot of air guitar in my room as a kid. It's pretty funny to see how it has evolved, and how the kiddos have picked it up.
Some things never change ^.^

Gydion Rockband 2.jpg

Been awhile since you had long hair. :)

Yeah, I actually kinda miss it most days. Especially when I look in the mirror and my hair is just all over the place. I rarely had that problem when I had long hair.

I find it a bit upsetting that guys with long hair aren't really seen as "professional".

Capture.PNG

Your hair wasn't crazy there. :)

Oh geez, how old was I when that was taken? Like 5?

People change a lot over the years though. I look back at myself of even 5 years ago and I see differences.

I think as I've gotten older I've inherited your wild hair : P

Yeah my hair is nuts. Though I kind of enjoy the Einstein look. Though I couldn't get that look at most normal jobs. That's why you should really write here. Maybe you can some day let your hair do what you want. And contrary to your title, I don't know anyone that thinks you are boring.

I'm writing a post right now actually. It's a bit more personal than I wanted my first non-introduction post on steemit to be, but it's something that would be better if I wrote about sooner than later.

Yeah, I really want to grow my hair out again, or dye it some crazy color again. Maybe some day.

As for the title, it's more my opinion on myself than anything else. I think that everyone uses themselves as a baseline on how they view people, and at least to me that means that at least to myself, I seem pretty boring.

So if you think you're boring you know what that means right? It's up to you to change that. Yet keep in mind some of the "non-boring" people your age may actually just be not too bright to think about what they are really doing, so you definitely are better for not going that route.

Air guitar isn't dead, it's just evolved.

I see a lot of AirSteemit on the New page. ;-)

Heheh... Air Guitar, Air Drumming, Air Singing, Air Keyboards, and Air [insert instrument] will never die.

You should see my bad ass Air Jaw harp :)

Is that really you?

I couldn't ever use one without beating the crap out of my teeth.

Wait, did he chip a tooth at 0:57?

No it isn't me... I was making a joke that we could Air Jaw Harp (e.g. pretend to play) that song. :)

LOL air guitar is fun... I guess lately they is not much people doing it as before, as popularity of guitar have gone down... But it should get popular again...

Hey man I was just thinking of you... have you checked out much Joe Haley? He is the guitarist for Psycroptic. I'm not quite into the vocalist on Psycroptic but the guitar rhythms and solos are quite fun.

Cool man!, did not know this guy!, but i like it! thanks! :D

I thought you'd like it, and your skills are good enough you could play his stuff. The solo in that piece is pretty cool. I'd also like to try out one of those Ormsby guitars some time, but they seem to mostly be an Australian export at this time.

I have a lot of practicing to do and need to rebuild the calluses on my finger tips before I can try anything like this. :)

Yep i do like this style and i could try some if this songs, keep em coming! :D

I remember the episode of Mad TV... That was an excellent show (except for that idiot Stuart) when it started out!

Yeah there were a few skits I liked. This air guitar one had me rolling the first time I saw it. :)

I really liked Will Sasso... he was the best one on there I thought!

I got my FREE air guitar with a CD years ago, way before guitar hero was even a thing. Had it with me ever since.

It's been through the crazy years, long moves and now sits on my mantle as a memento of the good times... and when I had hair.

Yeah I had hair at one time too... :) I still do, but never like I did.

Capture.PNG

And no I didn't normally dress like that... mostly concert t-shirts, jeans, sneakers, and some jacket with patches on it. That was for senior photos in 1989. :P

Lmao. "Back in the day!"

I did a lot of air guitar, and real guitar back then. :) Though I'd mastered my air guitar chops long before I went to physical guitar. :P

I still air guitar some while I'm driving... helps keep my fingers nimble for typing and for when I am playing my actual guitar.

I still jam on my air guitar when i get the opportunity, but I find very little time to play these days.

lol

Let me know if you need to borrow any of my tunes, and air guitar tabs. :)

I am terrible at tab, lol

I find a good old hammer swing as effective as it was 18 years ago!

Parabéns amigo @dwinblood !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43