Dad and I Back in 2001steemCreated with Sketch.

in #family7 years ago

20170827_200027.jpg

You may be aware that I lost my father to a heart attack on July 8th.

I took a long break from Steemit and spent some time depressed. Although I will always miss him, the wound of his loss has begun to heal. I enjoy looking back at the good times I had with him. One of our best memories is riding on RAGBRAI four times together. RAGBRAI is a bicycle ride across the state of Iowa held each year in July. Dad rode ten years, so he was a true RAGBRAI veteran. These photos of us were taken the summer after I graduated high school, which was my second time riding the route with him.

20170827_180826.jpg

20170827_180718.jpg

He and I were similar in that we rarely smiled for photos!

ID Photo (1).JPG

Sort:  

This makes me think of the good times with my dad, and how we were alike and different . Now it's your sons turn to have fun with you at their pace.

Thank you, @manorvillemike. I look forward to the precious times my boys and I have shared and will share in the future.

I enjoy reading and seeing the memories you have. Keeping you in prayer fella. 🙏

Very good post, i like memory photo :)

Great you have such nice memories!

You can keep your father alive by sharing his stories here, we would love to read them. Share every moment of his life with us, this will help heal your soul too!
May his soul rest in peace!

Thank you so much. I intend to share more about him over time.

I am sorry for your loss and happy to read that you are holding up this well and able to enjoy the time you had with him! Some wounds never heal but we learn to cope the best we can

Much love to you

Thank you very much. I appreciate that!

That i agree upon of the quote 'He and I were similar in that we rarely smiled for photos!'
But the memories will be there for you always

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71