Remembering My Great Grandfather

in #family6 years ago
Though I'm the only child in my family, I come from a big family from my mom side and also from my dad side. My grandmother aka my dad's mom is Sino-Kadazan (Chinese mixed Kadazan). That make my dad about 25 percent Chinese which makes me...I don't know..maybe only 0.5 Chinese blood?



Anyway, today we're celebrating my Great Grandfather from my dad side 13th annivesary. I don't have the opportunity to meet him as I was not born yet when he passed away. In fact, my dad told me that he had to postponed his marriage for six months to honor the death of his grandfather. According to my grandmother, my great grandfather came from China and was adopted by a Kadazan family here. His surname is 'LO'. He was a respected chief in the village and was called a Kapitan (a name given to a respected chief).

Today, many of my aunties and uncles come to give prayer for his 13th Anniversary. It always good to see them come and gather like this with their laughter and greating each other.



The prayer was about twenty minutes long and when its time for dinner, everybody was hungry and line-up to take food. Menu for today are by potluck. Lots of delicious food served by each family. My grandma have fifteen siblings but three passed away so there were only twelve dishes served today.



After dinner, the guys as usual, do a socilising and drink some beer. While the ladies will play 'Kuah Merah' inside the house. Its so entertaining to see them playing and laughing.

As for the kids, we share stories or look at our handphone just to kill the time waiting for our parents to go back home.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It's very good to remember and celebrate our relatives who have passed on. Looks like a lot of people attended this. Hopefully the kids learn this tradition and pass it on through the years!

Thanks...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @celo769! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celo769 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @celo769! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69