You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What’s Your Door Policy?

in #family5 years ago (edited)

Open door policy here!
However, it seems that I have less visitors dropping by than you do.
I always call other people before I come over though.

I remember with my first husband, who was from El Salvador, it took some getting used to that I was ALSO expected to always have food ready for whoever dropped by unannounced. So I had to learn to have extra food prepared, or at least ready to be quickly warmed up, for the times that we suddenly had extra people arriving at lunch or dinner.

Sort:  

I tend to call others first too. It just doesn’t feel right to me not to do so.

Wow that sounds like a lot of pressure to have to always have extra food “just in case”...and a lot of work too. I have felt put on the spot many of times because I feel bad not offering food to our guests. Sometimes we could share and sometimes we just didn’t have enough. I’ve grown a lot since then and now I am quick to say

if we would have known you all were coming I could of prepared more.

This lets them know that sorry, there’s just not enough to go around.

Thanks for commenting and sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62