I *LOVE* Grandma Day: Plus, A Fabulous Gift Idea for Grandkids (or Your own kids!)

in #family7 years ago

GrandmaDay.png

Continuing my theme of LOVE and appreciating/writing about the people that I am lucky enough to have in my life. I love spending time with my grandkids! <3 I usually pick them up one day each week for "Grandma Day" to give me some time with them and to give their mom a break to get actual things done without a toddler or two hanging on her. It's a win win for all of us!

I have two grandsons (they are the children of my oldest daughter Sprite) and I see them often. I also take photos often. *I'm one of those people that other people get bent out of shape about, because instead of "living in the moment" I am taking photos. That is my joy in the moments, capturing cool photos that sometimes turn into amazing gifts like this.

I compiled photos that I had taken myself and photos that my daughter took of the boys (Sprite is a photographer, so her photos are a little better than my snapshots!) and wrote a silly Seussical type poem-story to go with the photos. Then I uploaded them and arranged them on shutterfly (Yay for coupons and deals!) and had two copies sent out in time for Shepherd's birthday.

Last year I made a "Grandma Day" book for the boys. Mainly the youngest one, who loved to flip through pages. Both boys loved grandma day book:

GrandmaDay-0-cover.png

GrandmaDay2.png

GrandmaDay-3.png

GrandmaDay-4.png

GrandmaDay-5.png

GrandmaDay-6.png

GrandmaDay-7.png

GrandmaDay-8.png

GrandmaDay-9.png

GrandmaDay-10.png

GrandmaDay-11.png

GrandmaDay-back.png

He LOVED Grandma Day book and would often take the book to his mom so she could read it to him... and then he'd be at the door ready to go! "Where's Grandma??? I'm ready for Grandma Day!"

collage.png

It was a winning gift and I can't wait to start creating another one this year for each of them on their birthdays! We should have plenty of memories to pull from this year :)

Grandmaday-lyric.png

GrandmaDay-Lyric2.png

Grandmaday-dog.png

And here is Tiberius, the toddler protector... he was upset because I wouldn't let him lay ON Shepherd for naptime :)


You can "meet" more of my family in this post

Thumb-Love-Family-cover.png

I Love my Weird Family

Appreciator.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Love is very beautiful life

Thank you! I am very lucky with the people i have in my life.

Thanks for the comment.
@byn

What a lovely idea. I don't think I've actually got enough photos to make into a book but maybe I should take a few more. I love this idea!

I'd like to do one for my daughter for Christmas showing what we did when we were looking after the kids for her.

We're having a NannyGranny day tomorrow as both grandsons are spending the day with us. Maybe I should start snapping! 😊

Yes! It makes for such sweet memories. I want to make at least one for each of the boys each year so they can keep them as momentos that are a little more child-accessible than a 'real' scrapbook might be! :)

Take lots of photos <3 and if you do end up making a book (or just a grandma day post) please let me know! I'd love to know more grandmas :) I'm the only grandma among my friends at the moment!

@byn

I will @byn. Thanks. I think grandparents are in the minority here. 😊

I've held back on posting pics of my grandkids however, since my son-in-law has mixed feelings about them being posted on social media. Not sure he'd be happy with them on the block chain where they can never be deleted. Shame really as my daughter is OK with it but I want to respect his wishes.

Let's stay in touch! 😊

True. I totally understand that! My kids haven't had a problem with it. We've all been very public as a family because of our local theater work, etc, so I think we're just more used to it than some. Everyone is entitled to their stance on it, though, especially when it comes to their kids!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32