When family is NOT family

in #family7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever heard the phrase, "Blood is thicker than water"? Well, so is a milkshake or mud. I guess I'm saying that family can sometimes be the meanest people to you that you have ever met.

I have a wonderful family--for the most part. We have always got along well on both my Mom's and my Dad's sides of the family, and everyone thinks and speaks well of one another. We have a large family, so that is unusual that we get along so well. Except for this one, particular, troubled Aunt and Uncle.

Every family has a couple of these characters, I'm sure. Everything is always about them and they don't even realize that there is a world outside of their little bubble. This would be fine if they got along off in their wonderful little Neverland--but they don't. They can't stand each other and have driven themselves crazy in the process. Their own kids won't see about them or take care of them because they have been raised that they, too, can be selfish and self-centered in their own little world and have no responsibility to their parents. This leaves the rest of us to attempt to try to take care of these two selfish people as they age and lose what is left of their minds. Each of us, in our own way, has tried to reach out and help these two. They have managed to judge and criticize every family member that has tried to help, and I'm the latest victim.

I was hurt. I was REALLY angry at the circumstances that occurred that caused me to pull away. But in the end, I have to realize that maybe this is what they want--to be left alone. We all have boundaries about ourselves and others. If you don't, then you may have issues you need to address. I clearly had let down some boundaries when I reached out, and in the end I got hurt. First and foremost, I need to realize and respect what boundaries this couple has. They have pushed everyone away, and that is not just an accident. They want to be left alone with each other, and I will respect that.

Long story short, I will forgive them and move on. I'm not shortening my life for anyone. My prayer is that I never become any thing resembling them, and that I will still be open to my family WHEN they ask me to help (the hospital called me is why I even got in the middle this time). I would encourage all of you Steemians to examine yourselves and be the best person you can be. Thanks for listening to my rant, and follow me at @borednurse. Peace out!

Sort:  

Loving can be tough sometimes.

Yes, but we have to keep on keeping on. If not, hate will dominate. Thanks for the response olmech!

I can definitely relate to your story. Unfortunate situation really especially being family, but the good that comes out of this like you mentioned, they are an example to you of who/what not to be. I would take a step back, but do be there for them when and if the time comes that they need you.

Thanks daddyworld. I imagine I will be, but fortunately there are enough of us we can take turns. I appreciate you!

Families are never as simple as we'd like them to be, and just because someone is related to you doesn't mean they're worth your respect or your love. (I've got so many stepparents and half-siblings that I just tell people my family tree is more like a shrub.)

I'm sorry you had to go through this bad experience, but it sounds like you're handling it in the healthiest way possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64112.50
ETH 3174.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54