My DIY Cardboard Barn

in #family4 years ago

So I have an adorable 4 year old.

Truly, she's so freaking cute.

She is also kind of a terrorist.

But anyway, since Christmas, every day she has been bursting into tears and telling me she never got a pony house.

Wut.

Da.

F*ck.

I have literally zero clue what she is talking about.

She got a lot of things for Christmas that she asked for, but she never asked for a "pony house" so color me confused.

That being said, I also didn't want to listen to crying everyday, but I refused to give in to her terrorist like demands and buy her what I believe is likely a toy barn for her My Little Ponies. So I did the next best thing: I decided to make her one.

Now if you know anything about kids, you know just how quickly they can destroy something, even something that is well built.

So i decided I was going to make it sturdy, but I also didn't want it to take too long, so I knew I couldn't construct it from wood, not to mention how heavy something like that would be, so I turned to my trusty Amazon box that had just come in the mail.

I eyeballed the size and shape of a barn in my head, and cut out the cardboard pieces, then I hole punched the edges because I didn't have any duct tape and frankly it was midnight and I wasn't about to run to the store for some.

I did have twine though, so I used it to wrap through the holes and secure the sides of the barn together.

I think it turned out pretty well!

I even somehow managed to make an operational barn door.

The best part is, it didn't cost anything, and now my daughter is a happy camper!

I am such a sucker, but like who wouldn't be with this face:

xx - Lady Steem

Sort:  

This is creativity at its peak @bethwheatcraft!

As a matter of interest, @build-it and @neoxian-city has collaborated to reward steemians with over 200 liquid STEEM and a couple thousand of their tribe's tokens in an ongoing, do check it out and consider participating:

https://www.build-it.io/build-contest/@build-it/extended-build-it-x-neoxag-tribe-contest-or-new-year-bonanza

Beautiful kid, defintely takes after momma.

She is also kind of a terrorist.

They all are! Until the age of around 20 they should all be on the "no fly" list and parents should be allowed to have SEAL Team Six on call to deal with their BS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93