Home School Series: IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #family7 years ago (edited)

This series is intended to be of benefit to all parents, not just homeschooling parents. I hope that non-parents will also be able find value in this series. Future posts will be tagged under ‘ home-school ‘ to facilitate ease of segregation-by-topic.

I had originally planned to start my Home School Series based on where my currently homeschooled child, 12, is in her education progress right now, but I’ve come to realize that I need to throw it back, much further back, if I want to maximize educational value to those who are walking along on the earlier part of the pathway of parenthood.

I think like many of us, I have never had anyone to instruct me on how to raise a child, so there has been a lot of fumbling around. If I started with where we’re at right now I would mostly be sharing our current fumblings; it would be like the blind leading the blind, which probably wouldn’t be too helpful. You see, the thing is, I’ve made a lot of mistakes and have overlooked a lot of things. We try our best to correct as we go and apply those lessons forward.

I’ve reflected a lot on ‘the things I wish I knew way back then’ and think about how'd I'd do it differently if there were a next time around. I've become a lot more informed about some of those things these past 12 years, so I'd like to try to use the experience and knowledge gained to help people avoid some of the mistakes and oversights that I made.

There are some things I did while raising and educating my kid that somehow worked out really well; I'll be sharing those as well.

So I’m going to start off by throwing it back, way back to before the beginning. In the first group of posts, I will be sharing some nutrition and supplement related information useful for not-yet-pregnant and pregnant mothers-to-be – things that aren’t discussed often enough by the main stream and doctors.

Tomorrow I will post ‘Nurturing Your Child’s Brain Begins Before Conception – Part 1’, which will take a look at the importance of iodine sufficiency for near-pregnant and pregnant women and some precautions to consider before starting supplementation with iodine.

If you have any topics in particular you would like me to include for exploration in this series, I welcome suggestions :)

Next: https://steemit.com/life/@annie.oakley/home-school-series-nurturing-your-child-s-brain-begins-before-conception-part-1-iodine-sufficiency

Sort:  

You might consider researching and discussing this or this, two homeschool sites by respectable innovators in the space.

I found a great treasure in a box of inherited books - a signed copy of Ron Paul's The Revolution :) I will look into these, thank you for sharing.

I think I'd probably enjoy taking those liberty homeschooler courses along with her!

I'm really looking forward to your future posts!

Thank you for the encouragement :) I'll try to turn out some good stuff!

Congratulations @annie.oakley! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82