The things you do for daughters.

in #family7 years ago

Our youngest daughter has been going on about having her hair in a French braid for weeks so yesterday I turned to youtube for help.
After finding a video tutorial I watched it through and called my daughter in to do her hair. So here is my first attempt at this hairstyle but I'm sure I'll be getting many more chances to improve.

IMG_2496.JPG

I also get the feeling my daughters will be wanting me to learn how to do other styles as well over the coming months.

Sort:  

This is the exact the sort of thing that led me into a 20 year obsession with braiding and knots. I knew things were going wrong when I put out the money for the Ashley Book of Knots.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Ashley_Book_of_Knots

When I was younger I spent loads of time learning to draw Celtic knotwork but never got around to studying how to make physical knots.

I think French braids are beautiful ... on anyone but me! My 'summer' style is a very high ponytail that simply flows back down to my shoulders. Simple, easy for me to do, and a little cooler for hot weather. You did a good job for your first time.

Awesome job man! Definitely a parenting win, mate.

I've tried, and failed, a few times to help Amelia with her hair - anything other than brushing it straight defeats me. So it's down to her, or Dani, now!

Once I get a hang of it I'll be hiring myself out for parties and sleepovers ;)

Just tell her if she wants one of those cockroach looking hairdos she will have to do it herself. I don't know if they ever hit in England;

image source: hairmag

Alas no such thing as YouTube in my daughters era, let me just say her French braid ermmm was a little on the loose and lopsided side....for a long time....

Haha, it will surely be great learning experience for you. Anything we ever learn might help us someday in the most unexpected ways! :)

Good hair. I can try his tutorial.

This is the video I watched.

I guess she's lucky to have a father who is gifted in multi tasking

For your first time, you did an excellent job! I don't think I could do as well. And you are right, now that she knows you can do such a fantastic job, they'll both find new styles they will want you to do. Thank goodness for the internet!

Thanks, think I may end up regretting this as the styles they want become more complex and they then bring around friends to have their hair done too.

Then you could start charging for your services...

ahahah :) great! I wish I had seen my hair like this!
I've always loved knitting patterns. also it looks great on your daughter. I tebriked success :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28