It Seems To Be Getting Cooler Where I Am

in #fall6 years ago

IMG_20180912_175337763_HDR (1).jpg

Yes, I been noticing it is getting cooler. Well, Autumn starts on September 22 on a Saturday for me.

Yesterday, I started working on splitting some wood. I like to use my fireplace then to use my furnace. Well, I haven't lit the pilot light in my furnace since 2014. This way I do save money buy not using gas for my furnace.

I was leaving a 99 Cent Only Store and I was met by a guy that wanted me to switch and sign up with him for gas. I told him that my gas use is very low. I told him under $15 a month. He kept on wanting to sell me on my switching gas providers.

Then I told him that I save money by putting my water heater on vacation mode. So if there is any warm water in that water heater it is because of the pilot light heating it up.

He kept on trying to get me to admit that I will need more gas come the winter months. Then I told him that I haven't lit my furnace since 2014. Then he realized that I wasn't going to buy his product.

Well, I used to be a salesman at times too. As the late Zig Ziglar used to put it, Either you sell the customer why he should buy or the customer sells you on why he can't or won't buy. Well I guess I won that sale.

Well, we all have to cut in different ways if we want to save money. At least I have been getting my wood for free. I just look into the Craigslist Free Ads Section for people giving away free wood.

Some bought wood and have to move to a place where there is not a fireplace. Others just cut down one of their trees for what ever reason. If you have a pickup and are not afraid of some heavy lifting then you can have some free firewood.

This night the boys next door have been drinking again. I heard them earlier talk loud about something and the clinking of empty beer bottles going into one of the containers I put out on the side of my house for that purpose.

Yes, I recycle their beer bottles and cans. They don't want to deal with their used beer bottles and cans. So I'll deal with it. Even when it is cold outside the boys next door still drink outside.

I can really know when it is getting cold when I start wearing jackets all the time. Sometimes in my house I may even wear three jackets if it gets really cold. Well, I am not there yet.

I know my cat's coat gets thicker when it gets colder. Right now at night she sleeps where ever she pleases. When it gets really cold then she likes to sleep on me. Well, I guess I am warm to her in during those colder nights that are coming.

If you enjoyed this blog please upvote and follow.
Thank you, David.
Image is mine taken with my Moto G.

Sort:  

Muy interesante tu post. Yo vivo en el trópico, Venezuela en una zona de mi país que es bastante fresca. Y, yo me congelo cuando baja la temperatura a 18 grados centigrados sobre cero. No puedo imaginarme vivir en un lugar donde hayan las diferentes estaciones y sobre todo la de invierno.
Y acurruca ó abraza bien a tu gato para soportar mejor el frío. Me encantó tu post. Felicidades y éxitos.-

Thank you very much @surika!

@david sides wood to replace gas?thank you david, your next trip to sayasalamat success

Yes, I use the wood to save money on the natural gas use. Thank you @fauzan11!

The idea of cutting wood really takes me back to growing up when we would cut wood and do BBQ on Sunday on open fires. Good times.
We don't get elaborate seasons since we live near the equator but fall sounds fun.

Yes, it sounds like a fun BBQ. Thank you @jeanwandimi!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46