You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new battlefield... FAKE NEWS... it's gonna be a bloody one

in #fakenews7 years ago

Yep: these times of fake news flying around are going to be tough times. We're going back to the days when naive people have to watch themselves more closely to avoid being gullible. Interestingly, we're coalescing more and more into "tribes" with shared beliefs.

You need to not SHUT DOWN, and work off of preconceptions. This I know is easier said than done.

One of the reasons it's difficult: getting good at this art makes you the type of person who "stands for nothing" and therefore "will fall for anything." Part of living in this age of fake news, an age where we'd be wise to be cagey, is to get as much truth without shucking off our ideals and beliefs.

Suffice it to say that you're in a good spot if your beliefs are either close to human-nature realistic or else flatly unfalsifiable. People with unrealistic beliefs that are also falsifiable are going to have a hard time unless they insulate themselves in echo chambers (like the progs have done.)

thus choosing to close their ears and go NAH NAH NAH

Well...if you bump into one of those characters, consider shoooting this back to them:

:D

Sort:  

"stands for nothing" and therefore "will fall for anything."

I don't actually think that is true. That to me is a false dichotomy. There certainly is a danger of that, yet I believe if you use critical thinking and learn as much as you can about it then you do not need be either of those things.

It took me about 25 seconds of watching that video before I determined why you sent it... LISTEN DON'T WATCH... "Nah nah nah nah... ni nah nah nah nah" :P

I think perhaps I should clarify my other response to you "stands for nothing".

I always stand for something. The truth. I simply do not lock my PERCEPTION of what the truth is in stone and refuse new knowledge that refutes PARTS of what I previously thought was the truth.

None of us are brilliant enough to contain the total truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69122.82
ETH 3737.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68