You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Trust Wikipedia - FAKE NEWS SOURCE - The Dark Side of Wikipedia

in #fakenews8 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the update. Great timing! This is not new to me. I have been avoiding wikipedia for a while now especially on all material that is not completely neutral. The edit wars have not improve I see. So, given the reports about WikiMedia, I'll do my part to not support this harassment.

I was tipped off about a year ago when I watched this TED talk: Astroturf and manipulation of media messages | Sharyl Attkisson | TEDxUniversityofNevada. Your video and post goes way beyond. Looks like they must be dependant on the money now. Their business model is probably not going to change.

Sort:  

I'm guessing that what has happened is that many "volunteer" editors are being paid by pharmaceutical interests and other powerful interests, to spend their whole day editing on Wikipedia so that they eventually worked their way to the top of the administrators where they can then veto any other volunteer editors with less influence.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66293.76
ETH 3282.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70