“If you do not read a newspaper, you are not informed; if you do, you are misinformed .” Denzel WashingtonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fakenews8 years ago

img

Denzel Washington said that in reference to an article assuming to know who he voted for in the Presidential election.

Hardly of ground breaking consequence one might say.

Then there are the Aleppo fake videos:

Revelation of fake vloggers

img

These four people posed as suffering citizens of Syria in vlogs which suggested they were about to die at the hands of the Assad regime. They are infact journalists and political activists seeking Mainstream media attention.

Meanwhile the citizens of Aleppo:

img

Fake News: The photo was cited as being a young girl running from danger in Aleppo. It is a shot from a music video!!

The door is wide open:

img

img

The lamentable truth is that news has become a quasi-Soap Opera. It spawns theories and fuels the gossipping masses. It is not news at all. This is infotainment.

It begs the question: should there be a punitive code of ethics?

img

Do we really know how hot the water is?

We all think we do. We are all very good at self affirmation when it comes to such things.
It is like people who claim to be bad drivers or claim to be bad at sex ... as rare as rocking horse shit!

As Denzel Washington summed up: "The more you do something the better you get at it; so the media has become great at BS!".

One reporter decided enough was enough ( I love this guy!):

Sort:  

Thank you.....bleujay was looking for Mark Twain and here he is.

Happy Christ-mas to you and yours and the handsome cats too.

Thank you @everittdmickey, I thought I had pissed you off too much - but you have a good grasp on things - so did you watch the serious reporter? If you did not, you will enjoy it. If that does not make you laugh, this most definitely should - beer infused with helium: https://www.facebook.com/funbibleonline/videos/810832135683049/

I was merely correcting the quote...it was Samuel Clemens...not the other guy.
why should I be pissed off?

But then you elected not to vote ... why?

I'd say that's somewhat of a personal question?
However...i've learned the hard way that on steemit is you annoy certain people even a little bit then they flag you...so I merely dropped the quote and tip-toed quietly away..

ten people have already viewed your reply ... they will hide, I am certain. What is the annoyance of saying things that are true. The ostracising I have experienced is amusing to me , the lack of any justification for increasing the value of votes in a highly weighted environment is fuel to the fire so I have dug deeper and the truth is even more condemning. Communication my friend. I understand the desire to protect a position. I seriously do. What is patently obvious is that access to the club is prohibited. People like me who can write something of value and have a brain to work through the metrics are not welcome. Bugger off is the message to me. The response of anyone with a modicum of grey material is that the arrogant bastards who decry the power elite, yet perpetrate one, yet more vigorously so, should be brought to account or be inclusive. You have all read my suggestions and you know that some make sense, maybe not all ... I am not that self-assured. If you really read what I say, it is for the betterment and value-add to steemit and hence you lot. I know where the power lies. I know who is exercising it. The metrics are public; the ability to analyse these things is sadly only done by fools like me because everyone else is too lazy and looking for the non-existent free lunch. I am not looking for a free lunch. I am looking at metrics and a closed shop.

Thank you for posting. Great title....thank you for reminding Steemians of the Great Mark Twain.

Yes...it is a mess out there...brought on by mass rejection of the truth in the first place. There was a song....Tell me lies.....sweet little lies.....that comes to mind with the ponderance of how we got to here. Reject the Giver....the gifts disappear.

Thank you @bleujay, did you by chance watch the last video? The reporter outside parliament in London? If it does not make you laugh I ... But try it!
Here is a seriously silly but funny bonus for being a sport, helium infused beer: https://www.facebook.com/funbibleonline/videos/810832135683049/

Thank you for your reply @ebryans. So sorry...bleujay has not ...will come back later....and view it ....it is bookmarked...Thank you for the laugh.
Cheers. Yes...it is late.

i like that quote!

Thank you! He was pretty upset and had to be dragged off the stage by his publicist

Everyone kind enough to reply to my post gets this bonus. Today, helium-infused beer: https://www.facebook.com/funbibleonline/videos/810832135683049/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72