Personal Conviction of Cryptocurrency

in #faith8 years ago

Hello,

So this is my first post on Steemit. I just recently joined the crypto-currency phenomenon and while other alternative coins show promise, I find Steemit quite unique. However, that's not the gist of this post. I actually want to share how I view this in relation to my faith.

I find this a rather delicate topic, because when it comes to your faith, people can swing to different ends of the spectrum. Anyway, here are my two cents. I am a Christian so this is in connection to the Christian faith.

Do I find this wrong? No. I'll explain with a few verses in the Bible.

  1. Proverbs 13:16 A wise man thinks ahead; a fool doesn’t, and even brags about it!
  2. Proverbs 21:5 The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty.
  3. Ecclesiastes 11:2 Invest in seven ventures, yes, in eight; you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.

While I'm sure there are more, but I find this rather appealing. The good Lord wants us to be wise with our money and to invest well with wisdom. Can I be wrong about investing/writing with Steemit? Perhaps. I haven't explored the market trends. However, I do believe that one can be prudent in how you approach any investment and I feel that I am approaching this with caution.

It may seem rather strange that I am starting my first post in relation to my faith, but in all things that I do in life, I try to live to please God first.

To others here, I'd like to hear your thoughts. Do you believe your faith/religion encourages or discourages you to do these sort of things?

Thank you.

Sort:  

Just running off some more examples that make your point:

  1. The parable of the sower which produced a yield of 30x, 60x or 100x.
  2. Joseph was instructed to prepare for a 7 year famine in Egypt.
  3. Noah was instructed to prepare for a global catastrophe.
  4. The soul of a lazy man desires, and has nothing; But the soul of the diligent shall be made rich. -- Proverbs 13:4
  5. "A little sleep, a little slumber, A little folding of the hands to rest"-- Your poverty will come in like a vagabond And your need like an armed man. -- Proverbs 18:9.

On the flip side:

  1. Don't store up for yourselves treasures on earth.
  2. The parable of the rich fool who build bigger barns to hoard his wealth.
  3. "It is easier for a camel to pass through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of Heaven."

I guess it all comes down to what you do with it. :o)

Welcome. Great first post!

Clearly Jesus approves of those who, entrusted with skills and resources, make good use of them to produce a return on investment for their Master:

(Lk 19:11–27)
14 “For it is as if a man, going on a journey, summoned his slaves and entrusted his property to them; 15 to one he gave five talents,f to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16 The one who had received the five talents went off at once and traded with them, and made five more talents. 17 In the same way, the one who had the two talents made two more talents. 18 But the one who had received the one talent went off and dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money. 19 After a long time the master of those slaves came and settled accounts with them. 20 Then the one who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five more talents, saying, ‘Master, you handed over to me five talents; see, I have made five more talents.’ 21 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and trustworthy slave; you have been trustworthy in a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your master.’ 22 And the one with the two talents also came forward, saying, ‘Master, you handed over to me two talents; see, I have made two more talents.’ 23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and trustworthy slave; you have been trustworthy in a few things, I will put you in charge of many things; enter into the joy of your master.’ 24 Then the one who had received the one talent also came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew that you were a harsh man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you did not scatter seed; 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ 26 But his master replied, ‘You wicked and lazy slave! You knew, did you, that I reap where I did not sow, and gather where I did not scatter? 27 Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and on my return I would have received what was my own with interest. 28 So take the talent from him, and give it to the one with the ten talents. 29 For to all those who have, more will be given, and they will have an abundance; but from those who have nothing, even what they have will be taken away. 30 As for this worthless slave, throw him into the outer darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

Absolutely @stan. I didn't quote that as that is a common verse that is quoted, but I think it is one of the first pieces to be used as supporting evidence for investing financially. I appreciate your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62891.03
ETH 3103.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89