TEMPLE THOUGHTS Rest for your souls. Matt.11:28-30.

in #faith7 years ago

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke * on you and learn from me, because I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and my load is not hard to carry.”
This for me is one of he golden verses of the scriptures. It has been the focus of much musings and the thematic preoccupation of many sermons. The first thing I noticed, is actually the first word."come" it is a call to change direction, to stop all movements and turn, look at the man calling and decide to answer or ignore his call.
About thirty years ago, I answered his beckon, went to him and true to his promise, he gave me rest. My childhood was turbulent so I had quite a burden. I was indeed weary and heavy laden so it was indeed a new life when he took all my burdens of sin and rejection away. But if you read the passage closely, you will discover that there are two rests, the first one is a free gift the moment you become born again, bringing with it a feeling of freedom, lightness, and joy that none who has experienced it can ever forget. I obtained my first rest on the thirty first day of July of that blessed year, the trees seem greener, I felt love, real love for the first time, and there was joy, tangible almost touchable in my belly.
The second rest, as described above, we have to search for, because he said we will find it. He has told us where and how to search but we will leave that discussion till tomorrow . But for today, let us enjoy again the bliss of the first rest, let us journey back to the day we first met him. I feel like singing and dancing. If you have met him, the memories of that day should make you dance too.
Oh what a wonderful wonderful day
Day I will never forget......................

Sort:  

I know that your heart undoubtedly overflows with unspeakable joy and is full of glory as you consider all our precious Lord Jesus has done for you! Baruch Haba B'shem Adonai <3 Blessed is HE who comes in the name of The LORD. <3

The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you. Amen.

Amen in the Mighty and Sovereign Name of The Lord Jesus Christ, The Son of the Living God Almighty, amen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44