Facebook is forcing me to use my real name (screenshots attached)

in #facebook7 years ago

Like a lot of you, I don't particularly like to use my real name on Facebook. Unfortunately, Facebook has essnetially made my account hostage and asked for photo proof in order to access my account. I have to use FB for work and I am pretty angry about this. Let me know if there are any ways I can channel this anger into something productive. I am currently working on a creative community platform that will hopefully pull some people, myself included, away from FB and into more productive ventures.

FB warning.JPG

FB - warning 2.JPG

Sort:  

This is the perfect place to pull those people. No harvesting of your data or personal information. You aren't a product here, but your creations are, and they're yours. It's a beautiful thing.

So glad to see you here, Zhivko! Follow @patelincho, she's from Bulgaria!

Glad to be here & thanks for getting me here @matt-a! This has made the switch real easy for me. I am still trying to get the hang of Steemit, but I have a lot of stuff to share that might be useful for the community. Happy to see tomtom here as well ;) I've followed @patelincho.

Upon further reflection...this is such a good example of why FB and its models for profit are going down. I use FB to talk to my family back home, my job depends on it, I have advertised documentaries on there, displayed my photos...None of that matters for Facebook if they can't use my information to sell to me. From now on, I will use FB just to reach people and hopefully get them out of there one way or another.

Deleted mine over a year ago. Best decision ever !

It's pretty liberating. The only thing that sucks is that I use it for work and now I'm a bit fucked.

Don't give it to them leave. I haven't used Facebook since 2009, no-one I know who's regularly in my life uses it anymore either, makes me wonder how many real users they still have and how many are just bots.

Same happened to my secondary account, they requested an ID and deactivated my account.

I hate facebook.

@zhiv welcome to Steemit! I look forward to additional posts from you. I agree with you in distancing oneself from FB. I only use FB to wish Happy Birthday to a few friends & relatives; otherwise, it seems to be a gossip rag or silly videos for the most part. I resteemed your article & following you. Follow back if you wish. All my best to you and all fellow Steemians.

Upvoted & Followed you. Kindly Follow me back & upvote my articles too. happy steeming:)

One more reason to quit using facebook... They are like killing themselves... And also looks like a privacy invasion, what if i dont want to share my personal ID?, there are a lot of reason why someone would not like to share such personal information....

it's because facebook has been working with police and government agencies for years, they were asking for my id also year ago, i never gave it to them

someone needs to create a decentralized facebook,

don't trust facebook, they are spying on us

The "Big Brothers" are watching and compiling everything to use against us some day...
Government's Conspiracy is not a joke!

Comment signature.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66