I Did It. I Clicked The 'Delete Facebook' Button

in #facebook6 years ago

A few months ago, when the Facebook / Cambridge Analytica scandal broke out, I immediately logged onto Facebook and implored my friends and family to delete Facebook or at the very least, stop posting personal information on their site. Facebook, along with Google and Twitter, have taken it upon themselves to regulate what we can and can't see or read or watch, making them a direct threat to democracy and free speech.
Sadly, no one seems to have payed any attention. Friends and family are still posting all sorts of personal info.
And now, this morning I caught an article on Zero Hedge that Facebook deleted the accounts on some 500 conservatives with millions of followers, just in time for the mid-terms in the USA. If that isn't meddling with elections, I don't know what is.
The problem is that the internet has become highly centralized with just a few websites controlling the flow of information all the while at the expense of our privacy. The simplest way to stop them dead in their tracks is to delete our accounts with them.
Therefore, about a half hour before i began writing this post, I officially set in motion with the click of a mouse, the deactivation / full deletion of my Facebook account. I think Zuckerberg belongs in jail and I have a funny feeling that in due time, he will be.
I implore anyone who reads this post to deactivate their Facebook account as soon as possible. By acting in unison, we will be sending a clear message to these nefarious websites that they are NOT in control but it is us who are really in control. Thanks for reading and for your support.

P.S. Google is next on my hitlist - no more gmail - no more Youtube... Be vary wary!

()

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47