You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to do with Facebook?

in #facebook7 years ago

Facebook still has some reasons to keep it around. Checking your feed is not one of them, though. I use it for group chat with family and friends, sending quick videos or pictures that are too big for texts, and I share photos of my son in a group so anyone in that group can see what my son is up to even if they aren't close (I live far from my whole family). Steemit is not there yet because Facebook has a huge head start. Hopefully someday we can all pull the Facebook plug because steemit has caught up and has all the same features.

Sort:  

Steemit will never be the new facebook, because it makes everything public. It's more a blogging community than a social media. But I moved my whole family to Diaspora - and there are other sites that can give you the same privacy - Friendica for example.

Can be a bit of a bother to move them though :)

Yeah the problem is moving people to something else. Most people are addicted and can't give it up whether they know it or not. That leaves the rest of us to either spend our time and energy trying to convert people to something they aren't willing to switch to or use Facebook to stay connected online to family and friends. I couldn't be bothered to use my time trying to convert people so I guess I'm forced to log in every now and then.

No, it's a hassle. But I had some help from my brother and my daughter - it is mainly about the content actually. If all the family-business is on another server that's where people go, and it takes a lot of work to turn that ship around. But today it's done, and the Diaspora instant is where all the family stuff goes - free from Facebook's Stasi-archiving.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42