How Tech Companies use Behavioural Science and AI to Get You Addicted

in #facebook6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: How Tech Companies use Behavioural Science and AI to Get You Addicted


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Absolutely brilliant article mate. I've really enjoyed reading it! Nothing to add, just wanted to give a hit of dopamine and send you my best wishes without sounding like a comment scammer lol!!

Hey thanks. Nice comment.

I don't think being on steem is any different!

Posted using Partiko Android

mate, just to try something I posted the link to your original blog on @dlike . I know you mentioned you had an alt account also so I just thought it might be another outlet for you and to earn a few tokens and a little extra reward for your hard work!! (@gentmartin is my alt account!)

Yup cheers - it's just a matter of getting round to using it tbh!

Posted using Partiko Android

When I like something that makes Steem look good, I share it to Twitter. It's easy and affective. Best modern day soap box I ever seen.
I hope you get a chance to write a post for Utopian-IO they care about fighting abuse and improving the Steem platform so much that they are offering incentives (upvotes).
Good people over there listening too. Maybe you can dominate one of their topics... i'll get the link... https://busy.org/@utopian-io/utopian-anti-abuse-let-s-spread-knowledge-awareness-and-participation
This is the post that got me started. It's specific to anti-abuse on Steem. They have several other topics to fulfill, but anti-abuse is my favorite. No, I don't work for them.

We could use a well spoken articulate author like yourself over at Steem Flag Rewards too. We objectively incentives flag curation and help clean up abuse.

If I don't see a larger upvote on this in a couple days, I gonna come back a "should" you. Sorry, I hate to "should" on someone, but I think i know stuff sometimes. :)

Hey thanks for the nice comment and for giving me a couple of things to chexk out/ get involved with... may take me a while to get around to but I will!

I tend to rely on steempress for a semi-reasonable payout these days!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can see this one earning a little more shortly :)

The fulltime bots?! Nice little surprise. Never been visited by those before...

Reminds me that learning to code is very much on my to do list!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah those fulltimers are really swell! If you see one get an autograph for me :).

Cool, thanks for giving me some things to look into like Steempress. The one with the train, right? Yeah I know... have a lot of respect for that curation trail. I guess I don't see it often because I'm fighting spammy stuff all the time. Some might say I'm busy in the gutter, but the spam fighters I work with are way to cool too for that... they are more like master shit-kickers. :)

Also since reading your articulation of unexpected reward systems, the eradication of stop cues, and basic aesthetic features i've realized that I've... many of us have probably been aware of such strategies. To experience new generations practicing those techniques accidentally i s s o m e t h i n g t o l o o k f o r w a r d t o . . . N O T ! I assume as generations become desensitized to it, the next step will be to mimic and then normalization is achieved. Just a thought.

Steempress is the one which integrates with Wordpress.

There is s lot of concern around this first generation to have grown up with smartphones etc.

For once I think the concern may be more than yr usual generational moral panic - many tech CEOs severely restrict their own kids usage of SM and devices.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol, I use Wordpress. I’ll look into it.
Seems like awareness is developing. I’ll maintain hope.

WP is hands down the best blogging platform there is! Steempress does a pretty good job of integrating with it.

Doesn't seem to like numbered lists very much, but it's great for more basic stuff.

Checking out that stuff you mentioned is on the list btw - just a little sidetracked by steemonsters atm!

Posted using Partiko Android

Guilty as charged, since a long time ago. The internet was just landing around the time I went to college and university, and I would say that less than 1% of the days since then have been 100% offline.

I mean, it was heavily related to my degree, job, and now bc hippy job, but still, so many hours in front of a screen.

With my phone I'd say I'm doing above average. It's always on silent, no vibrate. It's a case of call me, I may call you back, and i'll reply to messages when I remember to go have a look.

Steem and Steemmonsters though, my cortisol is all over the shop!

Well I work online too so I know what you mean. I don't remeber my last offline day!

Keeping yer phone on silent is a good one - you should try setting it to monochrome too - it's what the inventor of the perpetual scroll does - to make it less inticing. I just switched myself. It's odd, but better I think.

Just having phone free periods in the day works for me.

I guess you've got no choice with steem but I'd certainly make sure I have large chunks everyday when I'm NOT responding to other peops - and the monsters is just a game (actually so is steem sort of) so shouldn't be too up and downy surely?

I can't imagine creative life wout screens. I love infographics too much, and their much easier to work with via screens, at least if yer not an artist which I'm not.

Is it really going to be -27 in Krakow?

Posted using Partiko Android

I have the 'night' setting on, it's an old iphone i possess.

Went for a walk today, no calls/messages/internet time, just the use of the camera... ahhh :D

-27 I hope not, probably around 0 at night though - cold enough, it reached 25 here today - October! I was walking up a hill in shorts and sweating like a goodun.

I think we can forgive the odd snapshot!

Amazing weather. Down to 0 here tonight apparently!

Posted using Partiko Android

I think we can forgive the odd snapshot!

Amazing weather. Down to 0 here tonight apparently!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.085 which ranks you at #3350 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 32 places in the last three days (old rank 3382).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

At least we get paid to do this on Steem apps.

True!

Jury's out on whether steem's that different though TBH!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @revisesociology

Just accidently bumped into your profile just to realize that we seem to share a number of interests :)

In particular that we both share a similar passion towards cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology :)

Unexpected rewards systems,     The eradication of stop cues,     Basic aesthetic features

You explained all those points very well. Great read.
I will follow you closely :) big fat upvote on the way:)
Yours, Piotr

Hey thanks. Yes crypto is an interesting space for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66