How popularity is killing Facebook

in #facebook7 years ago

This morning a colleague wanted to show me something in Facebook and after almost 2 years of not using it myself I noticed the drastic change on the content that most users share.

I would say that 80% of what was scrolled through were videos shared and there was little or none personal value on the posts, besides the usual birthdays, anniversaries, etc..

Is this how popularity kills Facebook?

Perhaps more and more people will face the moment when they find out that there is little value on the information they are getting at the cost of the invaluable time they spend using this social media platform.

When decided to leave Facebook I started to use more Twitter a couple of times a day (no notifications) and the basic principle that I can follow only updates of a business/persons of my interest is what makes it valuable.

You can manage what information you are getting in a very simple way and you can stop receiving what you don't want just by stop following.

In the case of Facebook you would have to unfriend or block aunt Lucy because of her posts, and probably we would feel bad about it. This is not the case in twitter where you can just not follow her.

So when a platform offers a stream of information that mostly comes from family, friends and a number of narcissists characters sooner than later you will realize that the next step would be to stop using it.

Pablo

Sort:  

That's the major reason I left. I prefer here. More contents. Real people :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.89
ETH 3280.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72