Getting Past Facebook's Shadow-Ban to talk Steemit.

in #facebook7 years ago (edited)

Over the past few months I have been using facebook less and less.


In fact one of the things I do most on facebook is frequent steemit related groups and have started adding steemians I like as friends. I find myself wholly underwhelmed by facebook these days in general but when it is filled with steemit posts and steemit related talks, I am in!

Having conversations about steemit publicly on facebook helps to change people's "too good to be true" mentality and open their eyes to the fact that Steemit's community is vibrant and thriving and that people really ARE making money.

Yesterday, thanks to @winstonwolfe posting I was able to take part in a conversation on facebook with @sykochica and was able to connect with her on facebook. I had followed her blogs for awhile but had never had a back and forth like this on facebook with a fellow Steemian. The conversation also went on without me and continued to be influential to those fence-sitters I wanted to share the interaction:

I had already been using facebook to create hype about steemit but I am taking a page from Winston's playbook in the future and creating meaningful conversations with other steemians to help sell our cause.

It is important to convert people on facebook. We have a huge audience that is already mindlessly clicking and scrolling for free. It may take a bit to unbrainwash them but it is definitely possible!


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

Haha! I'm already posting less and less on facebook. To be honest I never really like fb to begin with. I mostly used it to stay in touch with family that live far away. Steemit just has that something that I can't explain. You just wanna blog here!! Yes it's nice to earn something for posting your content, there is no denying that. I know so many people that work so hard to promote their business on facebook or instagram only to get very little to nothing in return. I've been telling them to move here and it's just nice to see that they get something in return. : )

Totally agree there @saul.alv #Steemit rekts FB to the Face and Knees <3 CryptoCraze the New World will open People's Purpose up or they will surely Perish and My strong guess is .. People better figure this out before next Tax Season

I agree with you because am using Steemit now.

What Steemit has is engagement :D We all have a huge incentive to be engaged at every level, posting, commenting, curating etc. and as a brand new user I was surprised to learn that there are only about 35000 users on Steemit because with all the engagement I thought this was a mainstream blogging site for a minute ^_^

I didn't see any comments on shadow-bans?

I had a GREAT time with this. While strange to not have the upvote/like button do anything...still..well worth it to get stuff like that in front of Facebookers..er, I mean potential Steemians! :P

You are like the nicest person I may never meet but want to @sykochica - You have helped so many of us, it is ridiculous.

Thanks for helping Miss @lauralemons out

Great post LL.

I just sent you some SBD to help out a bit. Keep up the good work, I missed you when you were gone as you know and you help out so many of us.

You are a great Steembassador.

Ooohh, thank you! You really didn't have to do that. :)

I missed a lot of people on here too at that time...I just needed the break for a bit. I usually 'toe the line' between cracking out/obsession of something fun and burnout.

Though I like to think I'm getting better at it. The secret...BIGGER SHOES!! :P

You are a great Steembassador.

Thank you!! :D It helps that I've gotta face, er voice for radio. Lol

haha Yeah the like button on facebook seems so useless now but it definitely helps create a sense of "this is real" for the potential steemians.

Ok seriously how many people am I going to run into here that I know from real life/Facebook?! I'm Matt's cousin in that screenshot and that I read that whole comment chain while waiting on my account approval!

omg really? XD That is awesome. That is also a really good sign. That means steemit is definitely getting more mainstream. :D I can't wait for all my friends to move over here. That is my goal.

Welcome to steemit!

I dropped the link and picture to my Facebook Wallet Fridays series for you guys to use since it is applicable here friends LOL!!!

I just sent you some SBD to help out a bit. Keep up the good work you.

Hahha! I must be spending less time on Facebook too! Because I liked that post, But never saw that convo. LOL! Steemit is changing so many lives. I feel like Facebook has robbed lives to a certain degree. Because it's this constant addiction that doesn't give us anything (facebook).

Yeah especially if you add in the pointless stupid addictive games that some people spend real money on. It costs people time, energy, money. It's suck a black hole that is good for nothing.

I address some of what you are saying here, in my weekly Facebook Wallet Fridays series LOL, info posted here for people since it is applicable!!!

Robbed is right, I pretty much lambaste Fascistbook every week in that series / post. It is a nice way to start a weekend (:

I have had a love/hate relationship with FaceBook for the past few months. I deleated my original account a while back, but then created another one thinking it might be useful. Now I'm going to look up the Steemit related groups on FaceBook and see if I can help do something useful. Thanks for the ideas!

Try to have public conversations with other steemians too for your friends to see! :D

Not so much original thought goes into most Facebook posts.

STEEM On !!

Dave

Exactly. It is so boring for me to be one facebook now unless it is to talk about Steemit and promote it. haha

I'm one of the @winstonwolfe converts ( from his video a CPL days ago ) and I'm digging steemit, but more in a Reddit style fashion. Facebook is is more for reaching out to family/friends for me, and less about creating meaningful content.

So I have sort of tasked each for it's own purpose and am holding onto a balance.

That, and I'm still quite the minnow here... So I'm a bit hesitant to fully abandon FB for now. ;-)

I myself stay on fb to stay connected to my far away friends. I will always probably have it but I no longer sit there for hours meaninglessly scrolling. It feels nice. :)

Yeah, I never really did. Top 10 or so posts, but mostly just to pop in with something witty (at least I always thought so...), make sure everyone is ok, and stalk an ex or two. ;-)

I stopt using Facebook a long time ago, i do have my acount so people can find me, but other than that... nothing.
Discoverd steemit a few days ago and loving it already been encouraging people from day one to also join.

Awesome! welcome to steemit! :D

After spending years on FB, I opened Steemit account last week and I start to convert my FB friends in steemeans

Awesome! :D Welcome aboard!

I find myself spending more time on Steemit these days than FB...and I like it!

Me too! So much more stimulating and rewarding, and not just financially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44