Facebook, For F@cks Sake! Why?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #facebook6 years ago (edited)

Internet (Greed) - Have you visited Facebook lately? No, I mean have you? Don't laugh at me. Even if you already gave up on the platform you know how far it's fallen.

Consuming


As an average person that just wants to have a clue what's going on in the world;

I am spending less time there every day. I am going to other sources, other platforms, seeking new ways to get an aggregate view of alternative news sources. Nothing so far has provided me with what I am looking for, the information tied together with the conversation, and input of people I enjoy communicating with, even with the trollish disagreements that require I keep on my toes.

Yeah, I'm on all the platforms. The time though....... Building the friends lists, finding the sources you want to follow, all of that. It's boring, it's time consuming and at the end of the day, it's just ughhhhh.

What's the alternative? Turning to the mainstream media to inform me? Hell no. Bouncing from website to website? Well yeah, I could, and have been to some extent. Neither of those alternatives fills the void though.

Just thinking of all the things I could accomplish in a quick visit to Facebook: Helping a lost pet find their home, helping a neighbor find a new spot for sushi, locating the perfect used couch for my living room, laughing hysterically at a great new meme, seeing a quick video of my nieces from 300 miles away, catching up on the latest news from sources I self-selected, a new recipe for tomorrows dinner. All of that and more, in just minutes, from one location...

I have yet to find any platform that could allow anyone to do all that so simply and smoothly. Now that seems to include Facebook, my last few quick visits showed me my own posts from a couple days ago, a sponsored article or two, the same meme my friend shared yesterday that I have seen 6 times now. Nothing from any groups or forums I joined, not a single post from any of the pages I have selected to follow because I want to see them. Why bother?
facebook-748885_640.jpg

Producing


As a newer independent media outlet, that wants to inform, start conversations, about whats going on in the world (A deliverer of news):

I don't even know where to begin. Facebook gave our outlet a great place to get started, our feet were just getting under us and the rug vanished.

Of course, we dusted ourselves off and got back to work. Can we take a moment though to scream into the void about that process? Please? Independent media helped build Facebook to what it is today. I've watched it become a central piece of the platform. Now though? Well if you don't have the financial backing of an IJR you can kiss views, clicks, shares a big, wet, smoochy goodbye.

We are all mass migrating to new outlets it seems. waving goodbye to the data we helped build on Facebook, the data that was actually useful to all of us when trying to expand our audience, and going where we are pretty much at the bottom of the heap. Hey, none of us are scared of work, I think that goes without saying. Most are pretty adept at figuring out new things. But this sea of newness, trying to build an audience in a new world, trying to change business models on the fly to fit into the evolution. Perhaps I am lucky we are a small fish, the loss isn't as large, and there is nowhere to go but up. That doesn't mean a small part of me isn't hoping Facebook will see the error in their changes.

Steemit may be the answer, let's hope it is. In the meantime, we work on Twitter, Google+, Tumblr, Instagram, Minds, (Silently hoping something changes)... Anywhere that we may catch the fleeing facebookers. If one of these isn't the solution we will keep trying till we find the right fit. As consumers and as the producers, I don't see many giving up. I think it may be in our blood and giving up just isn't

Supply and Demand


The journey, In this day of instant satisfaction, of having everything at your fingertips, who thought it would be so much rebuilding to deliver, never mind to consume. The supply is there, the demand is there yet the two are swimming around in the deep end trying to find each other. Here is to us all finding each other, and continuing this little journey we started on Facebook. Where? Who knows, long ago I think we all realized we didn't know where the journey would take us, so this is just a detour along the way. (We can question on another day the WHY of this detour, ahh-hmm)

All we can do now is to keep sending up flares and let others know where we are, keep passing along tips and working together to create a new home for Independent Media.

Written by Dragon Lady for Greed Media


Find us on these platforms -

Facebook ~ Steemit ~ Twitter

Tumblr ~ Google+ ~ Minds


Find more articles, as well as copyright and contact information on our website. Image source Pixabay

Sort:  

I feel your pain. I really enjoyed Facebook, but all the censorship, auto-spamming of comments, and weird algorithm changes are making it soooo difficult to use. I don't see most of the pages I follow anymore. Even FB groups' conversations are being shuttered away from my sight. It's really annoying and sad. :(

At first, I had a greed related response. What will happen to our outlet? We just got off our feet? Now I am having a personal response tied to it. Like hey, I can't remember the last time I saw a good video of something yummy to make for dinner? When did I last see a post from any of the groups I searched out and hand selected? I think the reality of the newest changes are kicking in. Seems to me they may have comitted suicide for real

It really could turn out that way if they don't back away from the direction they've been headed.

Congratulations @greedmedia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @greedmedia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99