From painful eyes strains and blurry vision to clean vision again

in #eyeslast year

eyes health.jpg

If there was one thing in my body that I was quite proud of, it was my vision; despite the fact on how reckless I was at hitting them with hours and hours of PC and phone screen use, they were always working and ready for more, they work just fine, and I never had issues.

But as the song goes, "…everything has its end, nothing lasts forever…."

There was a day when I just started scratching my eyes more and more, and it kept getting worse and worse; there was a point where I had blurry vision.

I knew I was in deep trouble; I was desperate, looking for a solution to this problem.

So I researched and tested different recommendations, trying and testing as much as possible, including devices, and here is what worked for me.

One of the best things you can do for your eyes and overall health

Walking

The number one best habit to fix this issue is WALKING!

Walking has been, I think, one of the best things I could do as far as getting less eye strain and improving my vision.

This is how this works:

Seeing different shapes and different objects at different distances is what makes your eyes that are constantly fixated on one single object or one single point to be "released" or "distressed."

The amount of stress (strain) you put in your eyes when you repeat that, unfortunately sometimes needed and all the time harmful, habit of one single focus over and over again and again, hour after hour, is what creates this problem in the first place.

If you work in front of the PC most of the time or constantly use your phone, you should be familiar with this feeling.

Give a break to your eyes and let them see the beautiful things in nature that God put for us; go outside more often.

You have no idea how much difference it makes for your eyes and other aspects of your life.

Dark Mode

I have dark mode my devices as much as I can (my pc and phones).

My eyes melt as soon as I see the white light coming out of an app. Just imagine waking up in a dark room and someone "sheds a light right in your face" That is how I feel when I open an app that does not come with dark mode enabled. I immediately look for the dark mode setting, and once I get it, my eyes get a comfy sensation (If they could speak, they
will say thank you, "Ulises").

Once you get used to it and see the amazing relief you give to your eyes, you will dark mode every single app you download or software you run on your PC.

Do your eyes a big favor.

Whenever you download an app or software, look immediately for the dark mode version of that app in its settings. Almost all apps have that; only a few don't have it by default (blame or, better yet, report that problem urgently to the developers).

Grey Mode

Level 1 is dark mode; Level 2 is grey mode.

Grey mode is another feature that most people miss (some just stay on dark mode); if you want to go one step further and be a pro user, you have to start using grey mode.

The problem with leaving settings in dark mode is that, although you can dark mode an app, you will still see other colors coming from the app…and this is a trap.

Scaping the trap.

Sometimes if not most of the time, there is no need for a lot of shiny colors on your screen, especially on your CELLPHONE! (This is a trap that will keep you longer time) , which will lead you to oftentimes waste your time and add unnecessary strains to your eyes.

You spend more time in front of your device (thus creating unnecessary use of your eyes ), and you are also adding more work into your eyes depending on the task; the fewer colors, the better; if you are reading or sending a text message no need for that.

On top of that, we are all fully aware of how addictive phones are; setting them in grey mode most of the time will not only help you spend less time on your device, but also your eyes will have less strain.

The same thing goes for my PC; after around 6, I activate grey mode. (reading and writing-related work do not need too many colors).

Things I bought that worked great:

UV glasses:

As I'm writing this piece, I'm wearing these UV glasses.

I often use them (1–2 hours before bed); on top of that, they help you sleep as well as help you with your wind-down routine before bed.

They are also an aid for eye strains; there is a story I would like to share with you; please don't make the same mistake I made.

Be careful. This may be dangerous!

A personal anecdote about wearing these UV glasses:

You don't want to use these for too long; I remember the first time I wore them; they provided me with a lot of relief to my eyes, and for the first time in months, I was able to work without eye strains (God I was so happy,)

I'm of the mentality that if something works well, I just keep doing it, so I keep using them all day.

I remember waking up, and my mood was different. I was sleeping profoundly, but way less time every day, I was bored all the time, and my mood was terrible. Never felt this lack of emotion, lack of dopamine, or lack of motivation for life.

Be very careful.

Eyes Massage Machine

This is the sort of device I like to buy, you pay only one time, and you get unlimited services whenever you want.

It is worth purchasing.

This device also helped me out at the beginning when I was desperate to get some urgent results that would help me to stop the eye strains.

I used the device a lot at the beginning, and now I use it when doing meditation or doing some breathing work, occasionally not as much as before, but the cool thing is that I have them ready whenever I need them.

Amazing!

Getting a Xiomi lamp for my PC

Whenever I sit in front of the PC and work or read at night, I do it with a mini lamp that makes it easy and puts less strain.

If you are a programmer or PC reader or do any work at night on a device, you need this one also.

On top of this, you can also wear your blue light filters, so getting double protection at night works great.

Take responsibility, please.

Although I may not know you, I would like to speak with you as I would do to a friend:

We are so hard and frankly careless with our organs that we do not measure how much damage we do to ourselves, and we only realize this when it is too late.

Losing one organ or creating irreversible damage is not worth it; spending extra time to fulfill the task that your boss demanded from you or that extra pleasure from eating something really tasty you know is harmful. It is not worth it.

Just imagine how terrible it will be if today you lose your vision; just think about all the things you will miss from life, on top of making it much harder to perform your regular activities (reading, writing, etc.).

We all have to go through this at some point in our life when we are so sick that we just can't work that day, imagine severely damaging one organ to be sick for years and sometimes decades if you have a chronic disease or know someone with that problem you know how terrible this is. It limits your life.

The fact that you can not work or you are not able to perform your daily activities. It is a terrible and scary feeling.

Take care of yourself.

Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59