You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Powerup Statistics #25 - Nov 6th - Nov 19th

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

For me the value of steem measured in fiat money doesn't matter anymore. Being active here is not about the money but about the community of people, the informations provided by many experts and the opportunity to post about my own thoughts and adventures.

The only danger in my opinion is a shutdown of the blockchain due to too low rewards for the witnesses.
Some people may leave steemit (and I have already seen many!), but other will join us and if (yes IF) the value of steem will rise again sometimes, our social network will become much more attractive for many many people.

Let's wait and be patient. And in the meantime let's have fun together.

Sort:  

Let's wait and be patient. And in the meantime let's have fun together.

That's my motto too! I would add 'build' to it though.

I don't fear a shutdown of the blockchain because of low rewards for witnesses. For the price of what it costs now to run a server, I'm sure there are always ppl willing to run a witness.

I was fearing it for a while because of the financial situation at Steemit Inc. around DEC 2018 though. The costs for the infrastructure that many Dapps use was really high and Steem Inc. was paying for it.

But they tackled that this year with the introduction of MIRA and RocksDB, lowering the costs by a lot, and even started to generated revenue with an advertisement model.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61362.63
ETH 2454.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56