SBD supply going down - the internal convert function is doing its job.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #exyle6 years ago

IMG_1923.jpg


If you remember I was checking the Power down statistics not long ago.

On that screenshot the amount of SBD in existence was also visible.

1 November 2018 (15 days ago).


powerdown.png


15 November (now).


Screenshot 2018-11-16 at 09.28.50.png


The supply of SBD is going down.

The reason is simple.

An SBD is basically an IOU for $1 worth of STEEM.

Through a convert function (not internal market) in the blockchain you can always convert (in 3.5 days) a SBD to $1 worth of STEEM.

In this process the SBD is destroyed.

With the the SBD price currently at 92 cents it makes sense to convert because you get more STEEM for your SBD's than when you would use the internal markets.

(If you don't want to go through this hassle you can also choose to power-up your post with 100% SP as long as SBD is below $1)

This is how the SBD peg works on the underside.

People buy SBD and convert until the price is back to around $1.

Of course this process does create a lot of extra STEEM so the liquid supply has gone up a bit as you can see in the screenshots.

Let's see if users will power this up.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Hey @exyle, how about speaking at next years Decentralized!? That would be cool! It’s put on by the only Universiry that offers a Masters on Blockchain technology!

If it could help Steem I would consider it :)

Intriguing!

Haha anything I can do to help Steem, you know it man.

"Through a convert function (not internal market) in the blockchain you can always convert (in 3.5 days) a SBD to $1 worth of STEEM."

Sorry, but how exactly am I supposed to do this?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can use Steemconnect. @themarkymark wrote about it here.

Thanks. Going to look into that.

Posted using Partiko Android

Or use SteemWorld...

Yes steemworld is easiest one.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey thanks for this explanation :) I hope sbd will come back to 1usd some day.

It will, I think that SBD is one of the most correlate fiat usd that we have.

I have been holding my SBD for some Steem Monsters cards but when the market made this possible, I immediately converted all of my SBD. Still about 2 days away from seeing the results but I think I will be happy with the amount of Steem I will get for sure!

I'll think you be happy too!

I converted 7 SBD and Power Up. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I pretty much power up all of my SBD when I get it unless I am using it to buy Steem Monster cards. It might be an addiction...

I recalled when sbd used to be worth $14.
That was golden time.
It was a little worried too cause sbd need to stay pegged to The dollar.
It was good for business and holder of SBD.
Keep on postin’

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are no mechanics in place to prevent SBD from going higher. We can prevent it from going lower though.

@exyle i am definitely going to upvote

when will the days come,when steem and sbd will gearup again ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33