One new insight can spark lots of new ideas

in #exyle6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2473.jpg


It's been 4 days since we heard about the current situation at Steem inc and a plan of action.

I'm hoping for an update soon.

There was communication by @andrarchy in his post here.

In that post he tries to explain what went wrong when Steem inc. tried to do to do too much.

What I got from it is that they tried to cater to too many users. Developers and End-users (you and me). Creating anti-synergy, or I guess they lost focus on a common goal, aka building the protocol for developers.

This was the most interesting part of his article for me:


It may seem obvious to some, but the challenge is that as the people who architected the protocol, we feel we have a lot of insights into the amazing types of applications that people can build with it.


I can imagine if you are building a protocol and you know what can be done with it but you are not seeing the community building it that you decide to do it yourself. Maybe this is how the idea of Destiny came about. I don't for sure, I'm guessing. If this is the case, I do understand it.

But things have changed now.

Steem inc. is in survival mode and a refocusing their efforts onto becoming a blockchain development company again.

But these insights into the amazing types of applications that people can build with it must still valid.

I'm hoping some of them will shared so the community can pick them up.

One new insight can spark lots of new ideas



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Come on Exyle, cheer up.
These thumbnails scream that Steem is worth less than a penny. ;)

Haha! You are right. Fixed!

That's the spirit!
Great picture! 👍😎

Yeah lol, you coukd see the sadness in his eyes.

Yes, it almost triggered me to smash the sell button!

Having this concept of a company and community all developing is pretty new! I’ve been working in tech for a few years now and I know the struggles of communication even in a centralized space! Departments tend to work in silos and don’t even get me started when we have freelancers or agencies helping pick up projects it can get messy pretty quickly

Communication is key in optimizing resources and making sure no duplicate work is done, counter productive work and the load is shared equally! Perhaps if there was an open roadmap developers and witnesses could bid for projects and say they would like to take this off steemit incs hands allowing them to focus on key tasks that will help all developers on the chain while eliminating frustrations that come with expectations and rushing to meet deadlines

Ultimately we all want the same thing to make Steem and the blockchain better! The end user also plays a big part in the user testing and steemians aren’t shy of giving their opinion so as things are released you can get feedback and patch or alter things to keep improving!

We all have our part to play

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lets talk numbers for a minute. There are less than 2,000 people on steem that have over 1000SP if i recall correctly. These people are not connected to each other in any way, therefore their collective power is weak. These stakeholders also have no mission statement. Together though, they can have a tremendous power, PROVIDED, they have the right goals.

So the first thing we need to do is to understand what our mission statement as stakeholders are.

Is marketing the most important thing? Is it the privatization of steem nodes? is it market and outreach? Is it to front end development? All of the above (in which case, we need to prioritize).

My personal opinion is to take a step one step further back. I dont know if I am the only one, but what problem steem is trying to solve? @ned spoke about steemit inc's ultimate goal to be providing access to cryptocurrency. If that is the case, than how does steemit attempt to solve that?

Obviously, we should work on everything else.

I am still unclear what problem steem is attempting to solve. I sometimes think steem is trying to create a problem to solve. So to me, that is the root question that we need to build our mission statement around.

Right now there are #7153 accounts with a 1000 SP or more.

If he wants crypto to get in the hands as many people easy on-boarding is a must. If the people can't join, how are you going to distribute it?

Another problem is the cost of the blockchain. It's way too high. They are working on this aspect right now I think. Not sure though, we need a new update first.

@exyle, i think we are in a rut thats deeper than onboarding. I think distribution, while extremely important is plagued with it's own problems. There is still no driving factor for someone to be on steemit.

I often refer back to facebook, why did people join FB, or instagram? its all about connecting and sharing information, and that really didn't take off until people were able to realign themselves within the platform through facebook groups. And for instagram, it was categorization through hashtags.

I'd like to see more accounts on here, but even creating an account is difficult. Thats the first barrier. Account creation, and passwords!

Good to see you changed the picture. I was just about to mention
Hope things will turn out to be good

Posted using Partiko iOS

👍😎

I think it’s gonna be ok, i think for a start, cost savings are gonna be the saving grace right, optimizing those costs, going super lean, people stepping in making RPC nodes, finding good hosting, faster kit, maybe a major innovation spurt in these bear market times can increase other areas of the blockchain, that we can use this as like a Star Trek ‘nexus’ ribbon effect, we can ride that out until we have some kind of basic token system — i know for a fact that all the apps currently running need to have a PRO feature for a few bucks a month from it’s users, that can bring in a revenue stream that I’m certain most users would pay for the confidence that it will still be around — also, we do things FAST here, we turn around on things, fast. I have confidence that the right people will turn up at the right time and get it done.

I was shocked to hear that it’s costing steemit $2 million a year to dev and maintain the servers they have, it’s time to really trim the fat and fatten up the steem goose for next years bump in price, because it’s gonna happen when all the centralized people realize it’s a shit show full of sales/marketing guys trying to make money of their content — i expect steemhunt, dtube and partiko to do very well in the next three months alone.

Anyway, keep doing you. I’ve always seen you as a peer, respect and admire your strong point of view and no bullshit approach to making sure we all win here.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the nice comment man. Love your positivity!

losing THIS blockchain is not an option.

Someone else creating desteny? Well steemit ic were not creating it anyway, it was to be a different company. I wonder does that different company exist yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

From the livestream we learned that Destiny is out the window (for now). We never learned what it was.

Yes but they might share what it is in the nxt stream and let someone else create it

Posted using Partiko Android

I just hear a lot of "I hope". there is no plan by the community, by SteemIt Inc or by the witnesses that has been published.

I have no idea what insights you are talking about.

I have no idea what insights you are talking about.

Me neither. That's why I would love to hear them from the team.

@exyle I have put you as proxy for my witness votes. I think you will do a better job than me to choose the best ones.

Thanks for the confidence. I will swap them around in the coming days.

that's the spirit! Think positive, dont focus what gets wrong but focus on what comes out of it.Think of what has gotten wrong if smt's were gotten public and the witnessservers had to jump to 256gb or 512 or 1 tb to handle everything then it would collapse better fix this now then later. I am curious also what ned has to say the next time.

You know? this is the first in a loooong time I really being sucked into a project. checking ohh when is there an update following sertain topics. I'm in battle mode now looking posting altough the posts are not everything they are coming and the will keep coming if i become homeless and I have only my phone I will keep posting...
Thank you for your post exyle.

Mark @exyle Everything will work it's self Out Exactly the Way it is Supposed to. We Have Nothing to FEAR but FEAR Itself..............We Will Advance even if STINC is Stuck in the MUD....................

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56