Intermittent fasting blog. 18 days in. This might be the best decision I made in years.

in #exyle5 years ago

IMG_6752.jpg


18 days ago I decided to start intermittent fasting.

It's beyond simple.

Instead of eating from morning till midnight throughout the day I now eat from 12:00 till 20:00.

That's it.

In that 8 hour window, I can eat and drink whatever I want.

This week that included: a pizza, hamburgers, fries, and beers for instance.

But mostly I just eat my regular food. Things I normally would eat like: rice and beans, potatoes, vegetables, meat, bread, cheese, fruits that sort of stuff.

There is no need to go mental just because you have 8 hours of freedom. But I like that the option is there.

And when I do indulge in something awesome like a pizza I enjoy it utterly.

No guilty feelings here.

After 8 pm my food window closes and I only drink water, coffee or tea.

This 'closing' of the food window is a very powerful mental motivator for me btw. It's something I can envision in my brain.

Food window closed = no food
Food window open = food

It also gives peace of mind because I don't have to think about what I can or can't eat all the time, I just can't.

Therefore I don't have to think about it. And not having to think about things is great.

Talking about thinking. Something else is happening.

I have become sharp again in my head like a brain fog has been lifted.

I notice it in simple things like being able to read a book.

I'm not joking, I have not been able to read a book for hours in a long time.

Always getting distracted by something (usually checking my phone) and not able to remember the pages all too well.

Like the information would not 'stick'. (I can't explain it better than this).

This is now gone.

In my research into fasting, I read about people saying that they experienced the same.

I don't know why this is happening.

But I love it.


I exercise a lot! Always have.


I go to the gym 4-5 times a week.

But for a long time, I have not been able to shift my weight or fat content.

Last week for the first time since forever, I lost 1,5 kilo.

I'm 100% convinced it has to do with intermittent fasting.

I always exercise at the end of my fast.

I stop eating at 8 pm and go to the gym around 10 am the next day.

Before, I would have thought I wouldn't have any energy exercising because of the lack of 'fuel' and fully expected to do less well in the gym.

But the opposite has happened.

I have more energy and I'm breaking record after record.

Not only in cardio exercises also in weight lifting.

I have no idea why this is happening, I don't understand it yet.

I feel like everything I know about food and 'what is good for me' might not be true.

For now, I'll just roll with it.

I have more energy, I feel clear in the brain. I'm losing weight while I don't feel constricted in what I can do and eat.

I doubt it will be harmful.

Tomorrow I will have another weigh-in moment.

I'm hoping to have shifted some more weight.

I think I did, looking at progress pictures of myself and when I look in the mirror.

Enjoy your Sunday!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Doing fasting also :)
it's very efficient especially if you count your calories. The fasting is effective after a week, if you break it you'll have to wait another week before seeing the positive effect again.

I did a 21 day fast this year and lost 20 pounds.

Posted using Partiko Android

You mean, you didn't eat at all for 21 days?

Man! That's impressive!

I think it'll work for you because your body is experiencing a new pattern of feeding. I most time eat just lunch and due to work. I think a change came when I started morning and evening walks due to @actifit activities. Cheers.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really doubt if I can really fast that long for hours

I thought the same, but it's easy.

i prefer to eat everything at any time but in smaller portions. i also trying to keep the 3-4 hours between meals. if this works for you is ok :D. different bodies different methods

If that works for you, that is great! I tried eating small meals and it just made me feel sad. I prefer this but like you said different bodies different methods.

anxiety and sadness also blocks your metabolism. i've notice a difference in your photos. you look thinner

Welcome to my world! 😬😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Not a bad place!

I do the same but not quite as extreme - 7.00 to 17.30 is my window. I occasionaly skip the 7.00 breakfast.

I've found I now only want 3 meals a day rather than 4.

There's definately something in it in terms of helping with weight loss.

You do feel sharper in the mornings too.

Posted using Partiko Android

I try to have two big meals a day now, one at 12 pm and one around 7 pm. If my body asked for it I'll throw in a small snack in the middle but only after I have figured out if it's really 'hunger', most of the times it goes away.

Same here but I still limit my carb intake and it has resulted in some great body composition results for me. I have also been able to keep my open window to about 5 hours over time as I would like it to be 4 longer term even though it is logistically more difficult.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Eat fully and freely and if there is a pizza near grab the whole piece lol

Wow nice man (: glad to hear this is working for you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05