I should have bought more Steem Monsters Cards.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)


I was checking some of my old posts about Steem Monsters.

It's always fun to look back at a thought process and how you felt about something when it wasn't clear what it would become.

This is what I thought in June 2018.

from the post:


Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 11.39.50.png


I'm glad I believed it! Because has this game taken off!

I bought a lot of cards back then and focused on Gold Foils mostly.

This is probably one of the best deals I made.


Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 11.39.02.png


Admittedly 90 STEEM back then was worth way more then it is today ($144)!

But Still...90 STEEM today is only $11,70 and these cards have gone up a lot in dollar value. (Also noticed some of them have higher levels. I didn't even realize that when I bought them at the time).

This is part of the market today.


Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 12.04.07.png


Another example of cards retaining value are these Gold Epics:



I bought those for 142 STEEM or $227.

142 STEEM is now $18,50. But these cards have all gone up in dollar value.

This is the market today.


Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 11.53.26.png


My biggest regret in my thought process was underestimating the Alpha common cards.

I remember those going for less than 2 cents. And full alpha sets even cheaper. And look at them now.

Insane prices.


Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 11.38.02.png


This is the problem with opportunities, they never last long.

And they usually never ever come back.

I'm very happy with the cards that I bought but...

I should have bought more Steem Monsters Cards......



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:


Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Well Done!

You even left a comment on my post back then:

Screenshot 2019-09-28 at 13.28.44.png

Very interesting. I only became aware this game even existed a week ago or so. I'm floored that some cards have actually increased in dollar value relative to STEEM given how low it's value has dropped in the past 12+ months. Well done.

I should have...

That's how much many who have refused to come to the light of #uncensored concent and #freespeech that platforms like steem offer.

More troubling will be the agonizing regrets of Steem users who deserted content creation because the prices went low.

This who stayed will tell a better story.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm one of the people who stayed 😀

And now you're smiling I guess. If not now, your smiles in the coming weeks will be so LOUD 😃

Posted using Partiko Android

Damn, thats a nice collection. Just bought 100 beta packs, lets see what happens to these when they sell out lol

Nice! You keeping them? or tempted to open them?

I opened all of them haha... maybe I should get some for packs for later to hold 🤑

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mark to this Point the Steemmonsters were the best Crypto Investment I have made during the Past Two Years. I Think the Alpha Cards are going to be incredible even more so in The Future............

I think so too, especially because of the DEC token.

I'm glad I meet steemmonsters before and I keep on playing steemmonsters since the day the rank battles started..

Another opportunity nearly to fly again because only not less than 60k packs left and once they sold out we will never get a chance again to open packs again with the same cards.. as you said opportunities don't last long.. so I wish I had enough money to buy some packs before they ran out...

@exyle is there any way to learn about steem monster game

There's a "How to Play" section under the "Battle" tab at splinterlands.io/?ref=exyle
Watch a few matches, play a few. If you have any questions, ask in the discord channel.

Im glad I bought lord aranthus (spelling) whenever he was under a dollar or at a follar. I have a maxed out one that i might have paid $11 for thats now selling for much more. Was also paying with sbd when it was at 1$ so as cheam gets cheaper makes it even harder to not sell.

One reason I hold back is what you just covered. Id rather hold onto steem at the bottom and take profit into cards as steem price steadily rises.

My specualtion is Steem price will rise quicker than the card price but we will see.

Another good bet i made was investing in "sealed product". Bought for $3 sold for around $6 or $7. Im hoping sbd goes back up as I want to invest in more beta packs, but might just have to bite the bullet.

Haha, I think they call him lord anus. I have a few of them too.

And you are right, if Steem goes up the cards should stay around the same value.

I am happy I bought a bunch but largely ignored the gold foil thinking they were too expensive!

I totally agree. I could've eaten less. I could've defaulted on bills. I could have had my paycheck go directly to peakmonsters-- lol, but now they are just missed opportunities. Who needs a credit rating, shelter and nourishment anyway?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74