Enjoying old games. I beat Ninja Gaiden! And it was awesome.

in #exyle5 years ago

Yesterday I had one of my greatest gaming victories ever.

I defeated Ninja Gaiden 1 on the NES, 28 years after it came out in Europe!

The last level took me hours and hours of trying to beat.

Man was it so hard!

The last level is literally forged in hell and you have to memorize every jump and enemy action in the game to make it to the final boss.

But I just kept going and in the end, I did it.

Man, that feeling and the rush when that last Boss went down with only 2 bars of health left on my own health bar is hard to describe.

I think it's only a feeling gamers know and for me, only the older games can give that feeling in a single-player game.


IMG_1358.jpg


C8D89840-639E-4414-9E12-8BF3E90BBA9C.JPG

watching the end credits, even though simple as they were back then, still awesome


For me, the newer games are often way too easy, too long and they take you by the hand too much or they are focused on multiplayer.

I don't find the single-player games challenging and I notice when I do try to play them I often get bored (I got bored playing RDR2, and I been looking forward to playing that for years).

The problem with RDR2 is that I don't have time to play RDR2 every day, sometimes I can't play for a week. After a week when I try to get back into it, I don't remember what's going on. What I was doing. What the 20 buttons on my controller do. It's too much work to figure out and I end up shutting the thing off.



And the problem with multiplayer is that I am simply too old to be good.

When I play a game of PUBG with @ezzy sometimes it's not even about winning, it's about having fun.

When you try to get into a gunfight, you just know you will be facing a 9-year-old, with nothing but time to play the whole week, that has hawk-eye vision and a concentration that hasn't been shattered yet by years of drinking beers and domino pizza.

In other words, you stand no chance.



It's still fun though if you don't take it too serious, which we don't.


Older Games


For some reason, gamers are always looking forward to the newest games.

But sometimes it's also nice to look back.

We do it with movies. I'm currently rewatching classics from the '80s and having a blast.

You can do it with games too and it's awesome if you can look past the graphics and focus on the gameplay.



I'm not sure maybe I'm just going through a 30's midlife crisis and longing for some simpler times.

But I'm having fun though.

I was thinking about live streaming Ninja Gaiden on 3speak today if I get the chance.

I never tried the live streaming feature before so that would be cool if I can make that work.

I already worked on my thumbnail.

When Bianca saw it she said, WTF is that...

O well, lol, I think I look awesome!

彼の並外れた忍者のスキルで、彼はあなたにグーグル翻訳でこれを調べさせました。


IMG_1379.jpg


Sort:  

Congrats on finally beating it! Must feel so nice. :)

Retro games are more popular these days as well. I love going back to them as well, not just for nostalgia but because they are so much fun, challenging and have much more appeal that new games.
I still enjoy some single player games that are newer, but I have a lot of genres and things I get interested in, so I can enjoy more.

Thanks! Yeah, they are a lot of fun these old games!

I'm glad you can still enjoy newer games. I wish I had more time.

Felicitaciones amigo

@tipu curate

Now you have to move on to Ninja Gaiden 2 and 3. I remember playing all of those when I was a kid. There were so many awesome classic games that I have always wanted to go back and play. I remember a while ago I finally finished Faxanadu and that was really awesome. I am not that great of a gamer, so the emulators with save points make it really nice for me :)

Faxanadu! Such a great game, I still have the original cartridge. I played it many times. Very memorable music too.

A save state is just like leaving your NES on overnight. But if it's used to reload certain sections over and over I'm not a fan.

Oh, it is definitely the latter. Like I said, I suck plus I am impatient so that is the only way I can complete a lot of games. It doesn't really bug me though. I take my pride in other things :)

Right on! Congrats on wrapping up the game @exyle. Best of luck with your next adventure, live streaming on 3Speak. You're off to a fun start with your fancy ninja thumbnail. Enjoy! 🕹🎮

Thanks, Jill! Couldn't Livestream today but did make a recording I will upload. I'm having loads of fun on Steem lately! All the best!

Looking back is always so fun from where it all started

Beating Ninja Gaiden at any point in time, let alone today with our diminished patience levels is an extremely noteworthy accomplishment. I think if i were to ever see those tower platforms again with the respawning birds I would turn the game off just out of principal.

Hi, @exyle!

You just got a 13.74% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

So awesome

Posted using Partiko Android

That's no easy task. Congratulations!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nothing beats the good old games. I liked playing side to side with my brother, coop or versus. Now it's all online against faceless strangers... meh...

Hopefully there are indie games to the rescue! I've been playing the side-scroller BroForce with family. It's a simple yet difficult game. But It's so much fun!

BroForce is cool! I played that 3 man coop with my friends and it was a lot of fun. Some beers, bbq and Broforce, can't go wrong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58793.48
ETH 2508.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44