Don't go too mental with voting/posting after the hard fork hits if you have little Steem Power.

in #exyle6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0179.jpg


In about 6 hours we will switch to the new hard fork 20 (Source+Timer HERE).

We will go from the old 'bandwidth' system to a resource credits system (RC's).

The amount of Steempower you have dictates how much RC's you can use on the Steem blockchain.

Every action on the blockchain will consume RC's (example: voting, posting, commenting, transacting).

The amount of RC's per different action is not fixed and can change over time. It's a decentralised free market system. It will find balance within a week according to Steem Inc.

Nobody knows 100% sure what actions will cost right after the hard fork hits and therefor I recommend you take it a little bit slow at first just to make sure you don't drain all your RC's straight away by accident.

Example: Let's say commenting a second after the hard fork cost an enormous amount of RC's for Reason X and doing the same action tommorow cost way less because the system found a much better balance (RC cost) for this action.

RC's just like bandwidth replenish over time.

I expect if you have decent amount of SP (and therefor RC's) you don't have to worry much about all this but if you have little SP I would recommend you not go too heavy after the hard fork hits incase you will drain your RC's to fast.

6 hours to go! Pretty exciting.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Good advice.

How much would you say is too little? The fact that there is no set price is kinda troubling.

No one knows. That's the problem. Therefor I would recommend taking it a little slow until more is clear. I expect more to be clear pretty soon after the hard fork is done though.

(crosses fingers and toes it all goes well)

What would be a little sp @exyle? I have about 700 + but I have delegated 400 out of it. Is 300+ a little sp or good enough?

I think that's more than enough when balance is found. But like I said straight after the hard fork no one knows so take it a little slow just in case is what I would recommend.

Oh thank you. I will take your advice. I have done my posting for the day then. Until tomorrow... Lol

Thanks for information on hardfrok 20.

I am super excited to know what will happen in this hardfork. Is this benificial to the newbies like me? I just joined a days ago and I've been having problems connecting to people as I don't see any button to start chat. Correct me if i'm wrong but isn't hardfork like a software update to steemit? If it is why aren't they adding a chat button? It'd be easier to connect to people and form a community.

Unfortunatle there is not chat such as unless you connect with people through Steem-chat or discord... I sure hope this changes in the future.

Is there any way you can help me connect with people? Because I really want to make friends here rather trying to make attention-seeking kinda comments and posts which won't even get looked by anybody. Just making myself feel discouraged.

Thanks for the heads up. where will we be able to see how much RC we have and how much we have used?

I will follow your advice! I'll sit and wait. I'll have some coffee in the meantime. Greetings

The one thing I've seen that's kinda bugging me is this. Hopefully it goes over decently, at least.

So bandwidth gets replaced with resource credits, but the determinant for RCs is different for RCs than bandwidth? Why is there not a detailed explanation of the difference? Where is Ned? Isn't he the one who could/should explain all this?

Thanks for the heads-up @exyle

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58