Digital ownership will change gaming as we know it and Steem Monsters is at the forefront of this change.

in #exyle5 years ago (edited)

IMG_4797.jpg


When I was younger I used to play games a lot.

Getting up at 8am playing the whole day till midnight or more. No Problem.

The game I played for the longest of times was World of Warcraft.

It's an online RPG that came out in 2004 and is still played today by millions of players.

I used to be pretty good at it. Not only defeating difficult bosses with a group of players (getting rare items) but especially playing the in game auction house.

Basically buying and Selling goods for a profit for in game GOLD.


picture of the World of Warcraft auction house.

source


Now if that GOLD would have been a cryptocurrency that I could have traded for Bitcoin then I probably would still be playing today :)

But sadly that was never the case.

I willingly gave a lot of time to the game, but it never gave back more than fun.

And the moment I left the game (which I did many years ago) everything I owned in the game I left behind. Wasted.

Digital ownership on a blockchain will change that on more than one front.

In game currencies like World of Warcraft gold will eventually be connected to Bitcoin or another crypto.

It just makes sense. It's too frictionless to not explore it and it gives instant liquidity to any game.

But even cooler I find the digital ownership of in game items.

In game Weapons, shields and Armor for instance digitally verifiable on the blockchain. Digitally yours!

It opens so much possibilities that are not possible today.

Renting out your weapon or shield for a while in a smart contract for a cryptocurrency when you are not playing for instance.

Or

Selling in game very hard to get items that only the good players can get for crypto.

The way I see it is that every individual will be able to get a job as a gamer in the future (if you are good enough).

And I would have been able to have CASHED OUT of World of Warcraft selling everything I owned.

All of this is not possible today yet, but it will come.

And we are about to see a small preview of this future on Steem.

Automated tournaments for Steem Monsters are coming to the blockchain.

Here's a sneak preview of what it will look like but I expect this list to be much longer soon with way more price money.


Screenshot 2019-02-18 at 09.45.20.png

Steemmonsters


The problem with Steem Monsters though is that if you want to compete as a gamer on the highest levels you need to invest a lot of your money first to buy the cards.

And that's a problem. I know it very well.

Back in my day I used to have a lot of time but no money.

I'm sure there are fantastic players out there that have time but they simple can't afford the money to buy the cards.

I'm also sure there are players/investors out there that don't have time but have money.

Now, younger me would have jumped on the chance to play in as many tournaments as I could to earn money. Yet, younger me would not have been able to buy in.

Younger me is going meet older me pretty soon though because Card delegations are coming to Steem Monsters.

While I'm not playing I can 'rent' my cards to anyone or I can delegate my cards to anyone who then can play in tournaments for me.

A deal will struck between us of course. I'm not sure yet what it will look like. 50/50 of the price money for example.

For me, these types of constructions are just the beginning of how blockchain will change gaming in general and we are having a front row seat.

Games like Steem Monsters are taking the first baby steps into this new realm.

It will be a new endeavour for me to explore. It's going to be fun.



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

that’s a fascinating business model. heck we see in esports entire companies and brands that are created by someone with the capital getting behind the players with lower capital but huge amounts of time and passion for their games.

no reason why this couldn’t work with steem monsters. you are onto something man. big thoughts for sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is super interesting.
In game currencies are like community currencies that @bancor has talked about a lot. They are amazing and release a huge amount of economic potential, but without liquidity (ability to sell into other currencies) they eventually die.
Making in game currencies exchangeable and liquid cryptocurrencies and in game items ownable and rentable on a blockchain is fundamentally transformative.
I know of other crypto projects trying to do this but I think that Steem has just beaten them to the punch.

I bought an Alpha pack when @steemmonsters first realeased but I’ve not done anything with them. I’ve tried to get my head around it but too much going on with work , family. Life. I’ve never really played these fantasy card games before so it’s all a confusing. Oh well maybe I’ll get some brain space to work it out.

Even OLD Guys Like Me will be Able to Rent Out Cards. I would enjoy Renting out cards for a Piece of the Action............

My decks are only at level 5, so that is where i'm stuck until I can get those summoners leveled.
Card delegation would be crazy! I like the idea but I can see people getting steemrolled!

Times are a changing for sure.
Pretty soon society will be nothing but gamers!
Holed up in their caves mining crypto by playing video games.

Have you looked into dGoods on EOS though, a standard for digital goods is being built there too, with different games being developed with wallet integration.

No I never heard of it. Thanks for the link!

Sure do!

You know I think EOS will be THE blockchain for gaming, that doesn't mean STEEM can't play a roll too of course.

Well I played wow from beta with a group of guys in the beginning I was a priest and was called the Legend of the server 🙈 I was good with terrible stuff. Yesterday I was playing steemmonsters and I found a bug.... I played against level 4 I have also level 4 but I was set back to level 2 also I was gold2 now bronze1 I didn't play for17 days.

How are you with drugwars?

Posted using Partiko Android

I started playing Wow a couple of days after release. Probably one of the best experiences in gaming I ever had. I never have gotten that feeling of 'wanting to play in the morning' back ever since with any other game. I'm not sure about your Monster bug, I suggest you ask around in Discord.

Yeah I miss that feeling also. It's that with friends doing wierd stuff on teamspeak and just play with awesome teams. But the whole bunch didn't play anymore when their epic stuff was worthless after a new update. They were playing hard-core with a day job day after day after day and all that was for nothing. And one other account got hacked he lost all his epic stuff and couldn't get it back then. But it was and is awesome . If I could make money with it my brother was a very rich man now 🤣😂🤣😂 he is playing still and he began playing when everyone I knew left.

Well maybe it's time to have a wow clone with steem. Instead of thise kind of chars other kind of worlds like earth, mars, Europe, distand galaxy's. With those space capsules of spacex as base and the speed tunnels as trains and anomalys as portals and bigger ships with solar sails with blackmatter drives for more distance. Instead of gold you have steem. And just the same engine as wow. Anddd no bots allowed.

Ok I have the basic setup of a game here I will patent it. 🤣😂🤣😂 😋

Posted using Partiko Android

I don´t want to seem/sound cocky, but I always asked myself how I could make money playing those games where I spent hours daily, only grinding for "virtual gold" that would only give me certain advantages in the game and no real profit.

I used to play FIFA (always wondered why people spent money in the game if they will never see it again), League of Legends (for about 2 years) and recently CS-GO (where I found it very interesting being able to buy and sell your "skins").

I have for awhile now seen this coming . I have been thinking of games I have played and how easy it would be to to make the game currency for those games crypto. Making them worthwhile in real life, not just the game. We just need developers to start creating these games . I would but I have no idea where to start .
Great blog, have an awesome day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope these delegations arrive before i lose my job as i am playing way too much

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86