Being consistent is key with most things you do in life including Steem.

in #exyle6 years ago

Screenshot 2019-02-19 at 11.01.09.png

Serious me at Steemfest 1, @roelandp in the back.


When I started on Steem (or steemit.com, back then this was the only dapp, now we have hundreds) I had no clue what I was getting into.

This is how I started. July 2016.


Screenshot 2019-02-19 at 09.24.55.png


The first thing I did was buy some Steem and then I just tried to make posts.

I had no idea how the system worked. There was no manual for noobs.

I had no idea really what made a post got to $500 for some and $0 for others.

I had no idea about reward curves and all that stuff.

I had no idea how others got their STEEM to begin with.

I also wasn't as dedicated as I am now. It was just for fun and and frankly that was a huge mistake.

I should have done the research straight away.

These types of opportunity's don't come around often and when they do appear you need to take them with both hands.

These are the top #21 authors from back in the day that did get it.

They all earned more than 100k+ STEEM (from scratch btw, an impossible feat. now) and all in a relatively short period of time in 2016.


Screenshot 2019-02-19 at 09.46.17.png


Then Steemfest 1 happened and I went there and it changed everything for me.

I saw the power of community first hand. I saw the potential.



After this event I started to take Steem more serious to the point I dedicate a huge part of my life too it.

I remember taking these notes in the train on the way back from SF1.


Justin Bieber has not joined yet though :)


From a blogger I also became a vlogger because I realised those where lacking at the time.

That was a good move even though I was terrible at it at first. This is my first vlog.



According to Steemitboard I have now made content every single day for the last 94 weeks (650+ days).

Not skipped a day.

Being consistent is key with most things you do in life.

What has changed over the years is my position on good content.


Good content does not exist, so don't worry about it, post whatever you feel like. Be free. Always post the source if you use one. But in general: you will never know if that photo with you and your friends drinking beer will put a smile on someone's face, you will never know if that story about your weight-loss will inspire someone else, you will never know if that silly meme you thought of will make someone laugh if you don't post it. Never let 'what others might think' dictate your content. Being mediocre = not bad!


All that effort resulted in 69k STEEM earned from blogging up till this point but the majority of my Steempower I grinded together in the last 2,5 years by buying it.

Throwing every bit of Cash into STEEM at the start and also recently in the downtrend.

And I still grind today.

Nowadays. I believe in Steem more than ever before. I know what's being build here. I also make sure I stay up to date about everything Steem.

Every single STEEM I have I consider precious and I don't want to part with it because it took so much effort to get.

But there is another reason.

I also know that when I ever choose to power down and the price stays the same or goes up, I will never be able to earn it back through blogging or buying it anytime soon.

That's always something to consider too before you do it.

Stay consistent and Steem on!



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:



Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect


We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

Thank you @exyle, I needed that. It was nice to see you bought in so early. I received a message on Facebook from a crypto friend in summer, 2016 inviting me to join Steemit.

I clicked through to the site and saw the huge amounts that some were claiming to make for their posts. Thinking it was a scam, I clicked away without investigating further.

This mistake cost me over a precious year where I could have been building my account and networking with the original stakeholders.

I finally ended up joining Steemit in July, 2017, after seeing articles about it online, but I lost the ability to stand out early on in 2016.

So, the lesson is to give an opportunity a fair shot, and strike while the iron is hot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! And thank you for a cool and honest comment. Luckily, you were still here earlier than most of the world. Who knows how rare STEEM might become in the future when this place keeps growing as it is. Steem on!

I think consistency is important in all things in life that you want to succeed in , so it stands to reason it would apply here as well.

I joined far too late, didn't start 'earning' until the price dropped, and only sometimes buy steem, also I try to post somewhat consistently not letting more than two days go between my posts, but I've managed weeks at a time that were every day.

I really Love steemit. It gave me the love of Blogging again that I had lost somewhere around 2010 when it really sort of fell on the wayside as Facebook sort of took over. So, I hope our steemit continues on.

Next I am actually considering vlogging. Again, another thing that is uber big but I am very late coming to it, but if I do it, it will be to add another fun thing to my internet life.

I WANT to earn in our new Virtual lives, but I also want to enjoy living in that world. I want to live in a 'nice neighbourhood' in that virtual world and Steemit is my favourite village there! :)

Before Steemit I never was very active on any Social Media. I learned to open up here which is sort of against my nature. It's been a fun journey and it continues to be fun.

Good luck with the vlogging efforts!

Like you I try everything in my power to make Steem an enjoyable experience. I focus on the positive and that works for me.

Nice article. It was very interesting to see where you started and how far you have come. I wish I had more funds available to put into the platform, but I know that life has other plans for me right now and I need to keep that money liquid. I feel I have really come to embrace STEEM and all that it has to offer over the past year.

Thanks. You are doing it right, man. If you can't miss the money don't put it in STEEM. It is too much of a risk in the end no matter how much we might believe in it. Luckily you can always keep blogging, every STEEM counts.

Thank you!

I had the same experience starting but during the top of the market which made the ride even more interesting as the engagement came dowb so significantly. However, I have learned the power of consistency and have begin to see its benefits after about 8 months posting everyday which has made my Steem grow in addition to my monthly purchases. Excited to move forward with the community and continue to add value!

"Good content does not exist" - Exactly, as long as you are doing what you like and having fun along the way, your content will reflect exactly that and people will be interested in that "transparency".

Greetiings, exyle

I did the same, but, with less money, because i am poor hehehe.
I will mantain my steem here and i am acumullating seven days a week...

thank you and have a nice day

100k earn't geez. i 'll get there 1 actifit post at a time and lots of ex cigarette and booze money:)
well done exyle!

You're uber consistent! I seem to catch your blog posts less and less for whatever reason. But, it's wonderfully refreshing to catch this particular one about your positive outlook on Steem & about being consistent. For that is what drew me towards your blog originally. And, from there i feel i gained a sense of who you are through the time i was able to consistently keep up with your posts. Here's to Steem shooting to the moon (but not before i can stack a bit more tokens! Haha Steem on @exyle!

Thanks for the info and motivation. I can admit I got discouraged from posting. I felt I wasn't getting anywhere, and didn't know what I should post about. I just recently started back. I'll definitely try to be more consistent.

Posted using Partiko Android

thats pretty consistent indeed. wow :) resteckpa

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49