Apparently I am now a Flexitarian. Marketings latest term for people that just eat.

in #exyle4 years ago (edited)

I read an article yesterday.

The title was: "More than half of the Dutch population is Flexitarian".

I never heard the term before so I was very curious about what it was.

I mean, we are talking about more than half the population!

Apparently, a Flexitarian is a person that doesn't eat meat with every meal. They choose alternatives like fish, eggs or mushrooms instead.

mmm....

By now I am old enough to know that the world wants to label everything.

Everything needs to have a name and if it can't be named a name will be provided for you.

Let me explain.

If you don't eat meat you are vegetarian.

If you don't eat any animal products you are a vegan.

If you are confused about your gender you can pick a letter from the alphabet and roll with it.

All of this makes somewhat sense and I guess for marketing purposes it's also pretty useful.

But what are you if you just eat?

That's what I do. I just eat.

I do it twice a day now that I am back on intermittent fasting and I enjoy every meal that I consume.

But what do you call someone that just eats?

Well...for the longest of times nobody cared...but now some genius came up with a name..because a new term is born!

Flexitarians!

Yes, a name has been invented for something people have been doing since forever. Eating food.

I don't eat meat with every meal and I don't know anybody that does.

I mean, who puts ham slices in their cereals?

Flexitarians, therefore, is just a new name, for well...Omnivores, aka people that eat everything.

Yesterday I had a nice Flexitarian lunch that I made.


IMG_1471.jpg


I also had a nice Flexitarian dinner two weeks ago (I was proud of this one, it was rib-eye with pepper mushroom sauce).


IMG_1304.jpg


And if you remember two months ago I made this Flexitarian meal.



What a great term.

And it comes with additional benefits.

No longer can vegetarians and vegans claim that annoying moral high ground where they claim to save the planet and refuse to kill and eat Bessy the cow.

I do my part now too.

For today's lunch, I had a Flexitarian sandwich with cheese.

Whoever came up with Flexitarian is a genius.

I'm going to use it all the time.

Sort:  

So ... If a flexitarian is someone who simply eats.

and a libertarian is someone who strives to uphold liberty

and a *-tarian is someone who believes in * ...

Could we say that a Crytocurtarian is someone who believes that Cryptocurrency is their currency of choice?

lol, I guess so!

But everyone should be a Steemitarian of course :)

That goes without saying. :-)

Whatever we eat, let's enjoy it to the fullest with good company, laughs and lots of joy. And, let's be grateful for whatever it took for the meal before us. Most importantly let's use the energy we get from food to have more fun, to do good, and to love ourselves and one another! Bon appetite!! 🧡❤🧡

Jill, I love your outlook on life!

Likewise, thanks Mark!!

I'm flexitarian and proud. But I used to call it being an omnivore... Getting old sucks. I can't keep up with all this labeling.

Posted using Partiko Android

Getting old sucks.

Yes, but not just because of the labels :)

I’m proud of you! I’m in the same boat with you fellow flexitarian!

As an American, I must object to this healthy eating craze. Your bread should be soft and your belly too! lol

Well, shake hands! I'm one too in that case. Let's all be flexible about the term as well :)

Wait. Ham slices and cereal? Hold my beer...

Posted using Partiko iOS

If you are confused about your gender you can pick a letter from the alphabet and roll with it.

😂 😂 😂 😂 😂

Flexitarians... do you know what I think? Some people have waaaay to much free time and have to make something up! 😉

Hi, @exyle!

You just got a 18.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I´m a Flexitarian

@tipu curate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88