DTube - I Launched Off a Bike Ramp Built for Professionals! -- Overcoming Fear

in #extremesports6 years ago (edited)

I might have been more scared to do this than bungy jumping!


I saw pros ramping off this thing and said, "that would be so cool to try." Thoughts of danger always come after my initial awe and urge to try crazy stuff. Everyone around me was telling my how worried they were for me for being a first-timer to such a dangerous activity. There was a significant gap between this ramp and a safe landing zone. If I don't get enough speed to clear it, I'll probably need to see the medic at the very least, if not some time at a hospital.

Yes, I was scared. My heart was beating so fast, I thought it might blow a gasket. But I see fear as a challenge staring me straight in the face just daring me to defeat it. Plus I get a high off the adrenaline coursing through my body. I had my doubts that this would turn out well for me. But Will Smith says it well, "God placed the best things in life on the other side of your fear." I've learned this with skydiving, bungy jumping, and other bonkers things I've done in my life that defy logic and reason for the majority of humankind. Accomplishing these things and realizing that your fear is a lie (False Evidence Appearing Real to use the word as an acronym), is one of the greatest feelings on earth.

Gotta say a thank you to the employees there that actually went against their better judgement and let me give it a try. This wouldn't have happened without them. This wouldn't have happened in my home country either, for liability and all that.

What is the biggest fear you have overcome or would like to conquer?

Music used:
Two Places by A Himitsu
https://soundcloud.com/a-himitsu
Creative Commons — Attribution 3.0 Unported — CC BY 3.0
https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Dude, that was awesome! Well done!

Haha. Thank you.

Brilliant video @daveonarrival! A very high quality production all round!
The jump was also awesome well done! =)

Thanks a lot @nicolcron. I worked a lot on it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by daveonarrival from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=daveonarrival
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=l7fjmnnx


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi daveonarrival !

Do you know Share2Steem ?
It's a new application that allows you to automatically post on Steemit what you publish on Instagram, Twitter or Youtube.
This way you can build your community here on Steemit and on your traditional social media at the same time, and with no extra efforts !

For the latest news about the Share2Steem application, visit our @share2steem profile.

See you soon on https://www.share2steem.com

This message is generated automatically and only once per user. We won't bother you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97