BASE Jumping Accident || Cliff Stike in Moab UT

in #extreme7 years ago

I have been BASE jumping for almost 13 years with no real issues or accidents until 2 days ago when I had my first object strike. I spent the last 4 months out with a broken wrist due to a mountain bike crash and this was my first jump back. It had recently rained and in an unfortunate moment my foot slipped off the exit on loose rock and sent me off crooked. Adding a 90 off heading opening I hit the cliff. I've seen cliff strikes and accidents a lot in the last 13 years and it always looked so scary and intense. In the moment I was completely calm and just handled the situation the best I could. I walked away with a minor sprain in my ankle and a relief in my preparation and training. Base jumping is dangerous and shit does happen! This is why it's so important to always run through scenarios in your head. To make your reaction second nature and not have to think about it. Thankful for the best possible outcome of a real shit situation. Thanks for the video and support Andy Lewis and Ryan katchmar

Sort:  

That looked a little scary. . . good to hear it wasn't a major injury!

Oh my God....... I'm so happy you're ok!

Yeah it looks like a 180 from above, but obviously you can see you have turned to the left slightly before opening. Glad you are ok...13 years in BASE you have done very well indeed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45