And We Let our Kids Play with These Every Fourth of July.

in #explosion6 years ago

explosion.png
One of my friends told me that if you take a couple packs of sparklers and tape them together super tight that they will blow up with enough power to remove a tree stump. We do not currently have any tree stumps to remove so we just did it on our dirt road. The only difference between this and holding the whole pack in your hand is this, these are taped together as tight as I could get them which I believe pressurizes them so that when the all catch at the same time there is an explosion instead of the cute little sparks that come out of them when you hold them in your hand.
The materials used in this project are sparklers, electrical tape, and well, that's it. I used five packs which is about 40 sparklers.
DSC00053.JPG
Then using the electrical tape I wrapped the stems together and then began to work my way up. I tore the tape just as it got to the body of the sparklers an then I also taped it up near the top. Some of the powder fell off because of how tight I wrapped it.
DSC00054.JPG
Since this is supposed to blow up I had to put in a wick. for the wick I stuck a sparkler in the middle sticking up about an inch or so. My dad said that I needed a longer wick so I stuck in one that was about twice that length. I wasn't able to put it in the middle this time so not sure if that will make a difference.
DSC00060.JPG
Well now it is time to test it out. Mine worked out ok but my dads was awesome. My mom said she heard it from the house.


Here is a picture of my dads sparkler bomb.
DSC00066.JPG
out of all 40 sparklers this is all that was left.
DSC00065.JPG
here is the crater that it left on our grated rock road. It was at least 1/2" deep.
DSC00070.JPG
Thanks for upvoting, commenting, resteeming, and following.

Sort:  

AWESOME!!! i have 15 packs of the super sparklers, the big ones... you got me thinking and my wife grabbing the first aid kit lol...

Take a video. I want to see!! :)

Awesome! If I go back to the hospital (or jail) its your fault.

Lol. I guess I forgot to mention that I am not liable for, well anything.

AWESOME!!
Adding that to the list of things I need to try...

I had a great time with this. It was a lot of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66466.45
ETH 3595.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90