What I’m Working On: Abandoned Journal

in #exploring7 years ago

A84D0C91-D18A-46C8-9F74-9C61F30F91ED.jpeg
I started a journal a while back focusing on abandoned places and exploring.
It’s sort of like a bullet journal and idk if you guys have seen some of those but they are really impressive. Unfortunately I don’t quite have the neatness or handwriting skills at that level, but for now this is good enough for me 😂.

78A53192-2682-42A0-831B-69AE6B21B8C1.jpeg
Often whenever I go out exploring I’ll only take a few of the items on the supplies list. Typically I’ll bring my camera bag with my camera, flashlight, pepper spray, and anything else I just left in my bag beforehand. It really depends on what kind of place I’m going to.

8E5C3B4F-952D-441F-AD2A-BA9C49CD57AF.jpeg
Many of the places I listed are in other states or one’s I haven’t actually visited yet. I doubt I’ll ever go to all of them but at least they fill up the pages!

A509BCDE-5B66-497F-B4F0-6A32CD1626BF.jpeg
One of the places I have actually been to is Mission Valley Mill in New Braunfels. I’ve been there a couple times and it’s located right next to a river so if you get run off by the police you could go swimming instead!
Whenever there’s “No Tresspassing” signs I’ll try and find out who owns the place. Sometimes I find the owner(s) sometimes I don’t :/ either way it’s kinda fun trying to track them down 😂. In this case I actually got permission from the current owner of the mill to go inside. He’s a pretty chill dude.

5F6D92E7-4FF2-43E1-B257-460A781326DB.jpeg
Last year I downloaded and printed floor plans for the mill and used them to trace out a map of the first and second floor. I’m going to copy it down in the journal unless I lose interest, in which case this may never be finished lol.

Okay question time: I still need to come up with a good name for the journal, any ideas?

Thanks for following along! ❤️

Sort:  

What a great journal! You are giving new life to forgotten places.

Thank you!!

Damn! I used to bullet journal my work to-do lists and they were never as beautiful as this! I love the idea of using that setup as a travel journal, if you get a sturdy enough notebook (which it looks like you have) it will last you a lifetime storing those memories- how cool!

I hope you post journal updates here!

I've got to think on that name... I'm sure we can come up with something awesome :)

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83